PDA

View Full Version : linewidth not line weight



neyes_ice
13th Dec 2006, 02:57 am
can anyone help me? i can't seem to specify a linewidth to a circle, unlike in a polyline. thanks a lot. im using autocad 2007

sparklerach
13th Dec 2006, 04:55 am
Hi Neyes_ice,

Pick the circle and change the line weight to a greater value - 0.30mm or more.

Hope this helps.

neyes_ice
13th Dec 2006, 05:22 am
thanks sparklerach. but that's not the solution im looking for. looking for linewidth not lineweight. you can't use the poly edit command on a circle. i've tried donut but its too time consuming.

Cad64
13th Dec 2006, 05:31 am
You could use the Arc option of the PLINE command to create half of the circle, then mirror it across to create the other half. Then join them together with the Join option of the PEDIT command. Now you will be able to change the line width with PEDIT.

neyes_ice
13th Dec 2006, 05:51 am
You could use the Arc option of the PLINE command to create half of the circle, then mirror it across to create the other half. Then join them together with the Join option of the PEDIT command. Now you will be able to change the line width with PEDIT.

i could do that, but its still time consuming. i'm involved in tracing maps, so there are situations that i need diffent sizes of circles. so ideally, i there is any... i need to create cirlces that i can manipulate the linewidth instantly.

Cad64
13th Dec 2006, 06:12 am
You only need to create the circle once and then just copy and scale it according to the size you require. It doesn't take more than 15 seconds to copy, scale and change the line width of the circle once it's created. I don't know of any faster or easier way to accomplish what you are trying to do. Perhaps a lisp routine could be written to create the circle based on input from the command line, but you would still have to step through the routine every time to input the numbers, so I don't think it would really be that much faster.

Cymro
13th Dec 2006, 11:15 am
I use donuts when drawing circles of a certain width.
Works a treat for me.

dbroada
13th Dec 2006, 12:01 pm
I use donuts when drawing circles of a certain width.
Works a treat for me.
I was about to suggest that. :D

Steamineagle
13th Dec 2006, 02:31 pm
Hi! neyes_ice,

linewidth not line weight…….Why?

Are the line widths of your circles to be consistant, regardless of diameter?
If so, then sparklerach idea would be the quickest solution. However if you were to create a layer specifically for drawing these circles you could preset the line weight first thereby doing away with having to change them later. Faster still!

However,you must have a reason for not wanting to use lineweights.

Does it matter if the line width appears differently on different sized circles?
If not, then Cad64 idea would be better. Create one according to his idea at one unit in diameter then block it.
Insert the block and scale it to suit. The bigger the circle, the thicker the line will appear.
Further to additional posts appearing ( cymro/dbroada), yes, making a donut and blocking as above should produce a similar effect.

But then maybe you want to set the thickness depending on the circle, which could be any size for whatever reason!
So for example, two circles of the same diameter could have different line thicknessessessess depending on what you want to use them for.

How wide a line are you looking for?


Stephen

P.S. Interestingly, an exploded donut reverts back to 2 arcs, which if you then join again make the very same polyline that Cad64 was talking about. Give that a width and it becomes a donut again!
Am I going in circles?

tzframpton
13th Dec 2006, 02:46 pm
we work off of lineweights here. but there are some things i like to have linewidths, just to help destinguish where/what it is throughout the drawing, that's probably what he's wanting to do. but yeah, can't do it to a circle, gotta be Polyline Arc.

Cad64 has the best solution, make them, set them aside, and copy them where needed. or, start making blocks depending on how much you're gonna need. 8)

neyes_ice
14th Dec 2006, 03:19 am
we work off of lineweights here. but there are some things i like to have linewidths, just to help destinguish where/what it is throughout the drawing, that's probably what he's wanting to do. but yeah, can't do it to a circle, gotta be Polyline Arc.

Cad64 has the best solution, make them, set them aside, and copy them where needed. or, start making blocks depending on how much you're gonna need. 8)

thanks man, you got my point! and thanks for the other suggestions too, maybe i can use them on other projects.

daiharv
14th Dec 2006, 12:01 pm
yuo could use this vlx to convert the circles to polylines and then give them a global width.

VRTLIB-1  h ØLOAD((:protected . T) (:active-x . T) (:separate-namespace) (:load-file-list (:fas "circle2pl")))+ 2 CIRCLE2PL
FAS4-FILE ; Do not change it!
875
68 $ C QB 
A @ 5? > > 5= g @ 5? > W > g < 5; : < 2 59 
8 Q7 
6 Q7 
> 55 4 2 3 2 51 
3 4 50 g£ / 3 5. 5-  , 4 5- 5+ 51 
> 3 5* ) ) 5( ' 2
' 5& 5% $ 2(' 5& 5% # 3Ò ' 5& 5% " $ ! ! 25 5 # 5  $ ! 25 # 5     2
  2$ 5 5 5 5   2B25 5 5   2F25 5 5   3Ò " 5 5 5  22'2>5   ]   \ gO \ ( \ )]  ' 5&   5 g   ' 5& 5 5  W W©ÿÿÿ ) 5 
 5 
 
2
 5 2

5& 
5 

5 
 
2
 5 2

5& 
5 

5 


2' 5& 5 5 

5 

5; 5 25 g9  Q7 
 Q7 
 Q7 
5  Q7 
 Q7 
W 3 5. 3  51 
WMýÿÿ 8 Q7 
 Q7 
< : 59 
W > 5 1  $
858 7 $W×$á2„?m-+FAURCHb1BÖj*8òl}F|(`+tu;KyT¸*³*@ÙR 5sf7.l>plz%^®0¹C”ÕP\}k}&p&u+;yrTú Ÿw£~ó
a'f(41di:[}› —aÍVÓYD3WyRNING'*Ö%á3õ?1[upz
![0ÚÕ%â2éz6]+2{-t)
P'Ž—v´2¶j2]GAXK =™ ˜s¥`âd`S[
N e1› —a¶wä
1ATV^COHÛCvµpåk1CVGqR

bgŸ‚`¸„5
m)"G/s?76;LÚzÒ%Ò„>dQ
EJZFNbt”’`¬2™1CV[CVUK
O-}‰Öf¯|å?p
WW PC]NHY ,e’CÖÐ*?jBEGqR
ba•i©|ó\ID#Z]_S1* šd²2?]W[GSq 7_J&bÚ *k´2õ{c]FA[ BUY 'Ž“q*zø{1T\YTO_H#eÚCƒ$*6¶^;'I @ P*& bdÛCÁ%*vå
u}$q0bnuj+-S°&µQÀi*?aN\CD hu‰}l´¶qdAX_@OE bdÛCÔ%¿u*^U.*q*pC R

bnô˜a¯iåze F@GWUBXEDbvŸ€d²2¶j0] YTDSBP_1‰“q*aåxt u
H+c™“Ù3¶j0]Bpk6ob U÷"ºL“F¶?jCVGPC_YDb1*qÑ2¶dp
S GRJ_HH*~ÚCf°|â?1C] G@HE61ڑѶ?jIVGXSV
9ŸÖ%»|ãr1]\@P@^X'eÚCï**n¶?r]VG)
P! ™
„f¬w„o}](FWEc1ÚCß *8á?1]AE W0ÙC×/é6¶58_'FC
.
b2Ìá¢tQ±ƒ5
;fas4 crunch
;$;A3/20/05 VRTLIB-1

Cad64
14th Dec 2006, 03:28 pm
:? :huh: :unsure: What's this gibberish?

neyes_ice
15th Dec 2006, 01:20 am
yuo could use this vlx to convert the circles to polylines and then give them a global width.

VRTLIB-1  h ØLOAD((:protected . T) (:active-x . T) (:separate-namespace) (:load-file-list (:fas "circle2pl")))+ 2 CIRCLE2PL
FAS4-FILE ; Do not change it!
875
68 $ C QB 
A @ 5? > > 5= g @ 5? > W > g < 5; : < 2 59 
8 Q7 
6 Q7 
> 55 4 2 3 2 51 
3 4 50 g£ / 3 5. 5-  , 4 5- 5+ 51 
> 3 5* ) ) 5( ' 2
' 5& 5% $ 2(' 5& 5% # 3Ò ' 5& 5% " $ ! ! 25 5 # 5  $ ! 25 # 5     2
  2$ 5 5 5 5   2B25 5 5   2F25 5 5   3Ò " 5 5 5  22'2>5   ]   \ gO \ ( \ )]  ' 5&   5 g   ' 5& 5 5  W W©ÿÿÿ ) 5 
 5 
 
2
 5 2

5& 
5 

5 
 
2
 5 2

5& 
5 

5 


2' 5& 5 5 

5 

5; 5 25 g9  Q7 
 Q7 
 Q7 
5  Q7 
 Q7 
W 3 5. 3  51 
WMýÿÿ 8 Q7 
 Q7 
< : 59 
W > 5 1  $
858 7 $W×$á2„?m-+FAURCHb1BÖj�*8òl}F|(`+tu;KyT¸*³�*@ ÙR5sf7.l>plz%^®0¹C”ÕP\}k}&p&u+;yrTú Ÿw£~ó
a'f(41di:[}› —aÍVÓYD3WyRNING'�*Ö%á3õ?1[upz
![0ÚÕ%â2éz6]+2{-t)
P'Ž—v´2¶j2]GAXK =™ ˜s¥`âd`S[
N e1› —a¶wä
1ATV^COHÛCvµpåk1CVGqR

bgŸ‚`¸„5
m)"G/s?76;LÚzÒ%Ò„>dQ
EJZFNbt”’`¬2™1CV[CVUK
O-}‰Öf¯|å?p
WW PC]NHY ,e’CÖÐ�*?jBEGqR
ba•i©|ó\ID#Z]_S1�* šd²2?]W[GSq 7_J&bÚ �*k´2õ{c]FA[ BUY 'Ž“q�*zø{1T\YTO_H#eÚCƒ$�*6¶ ^;'I@ P*& bdÛCÁ%�*vå
u}$q0bnuj+-S°&µQÀi�*?aN\CD hu‰}l´¶qdAX_@OE bdÛCÔ%¿u�*^U.*q*p CR

bnô˜a¯iåze F@GWUBXEDbvŸ€d²2¶j0] YTDSBP_1‰“q�*aåxt u
H+c™“Ù3¶j0]Bpk6ob U÷"ºL“F¶?jCVGPC_YDb1�*qÑ2¶dp
S GRJ_HH*~ÚCf°|â?1C] G@HE61ڑѶ?jIVGXSV
9ŸÖ%»|ãr1]\@P@^X'eÚCï*�*n¶?r]VG)
P! ™
„f¬w„o}](FWEc1ÚCß �*8á?1]AE W0ÙC×/é6¶58_'FC
.
b2Ìá¢tQ±ƒ5
;fas4 crunch
;$;A3/20/05 VRTLIB-1

yup man, what's this? if this works, can you teach it step by step? thanks

CarlB
15th Dec 2006, 02:01 am
You'll have better luck downloading the file "circle2pl.vlx" from

http://www.dotsoft.com/freestuff.htm

*** EDIT ***

A similar routine, C2D.lsp, can be found at http://www.turvill.com/t2/free_stuff/index.htm
"Converts selected CIRCLE objects to 'Donut' (closed circular LWPOLYLINE) objects."

neyes_ice
15th Dec 2006, 02:08 am
You'll have better luck downloading the file "circle2pl.vlx" from

http://www.dotsoft.com/freestuff.htm

thanks a lot man. how do i upload this file?do i run it? or do i just copy and paste it to a certain folder? if so, where?

CarlB
15th Dec 2006, 02:10 am
how do i upload this file?do i run it? or do i just copy and paste it to a certain folder? if so, where?

An often-asked questions so a nice explanation has been prepared:
http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1390

neyes_ice
15th Dec 2006, 02:13 am
An often-asked questions so a nice explanation has been prepared:
http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1390

thanks a lot. one more question. i downloaded a .vlx file is it the same with .lsp? thanks again.

CarlB
15th Dec 2006, 02:36 am
i downloaded a .vlx file is it the same with .lsp? thanks again.

Yep. The .vlx is a compiled lisp file but loads and runs the same as a ".lsp" file.

neyes_ice
15th Dec 2006, 02:38 am
Yep. The .vlx is a compiled lisp file but loads and runs the same as a ".lsp" file.

ok sir, got it working. thanks. till next time.:D