PDA

View Full Version : Editing Attributes



CAD-e-Corner
29th Aug 2007, 12:51 am
There are many ways to edit Block Attributes. The standard method is to simply double-click the Attribute to invoke the Enhanced Attribute Editor.

http://bp3.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMAmMTNYI/AAAAAAAAAH4/YA2-N9-aSCI/s320/Attedit1.gif (http://bp3.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMAmMTNYI/AAAAAAAAAH4/YA2-N9-aSCI/s1600-h/Attedit1.gif)Use the Attribute tab to change the value of an Attribute. Use the Text Options and Properties tabs to change: Text style, Justification, Height, Width Factor, Oblique Angle, Layer, Color, Lineweight, etc.

So how does one edit more than one Attribute at a time? You can select the Blocks and use the Properties palette to modify values of common Attributes. Consider the three insertions of the two Blocks shown here.
http://bp3.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMAmMTNZI/AAAAAAAAAIA/hQE6_hH6hhI/s320/Attedit2.gif (http://bp3.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMAmMTNZI/AAAAAAAAAIA/hQE6_hH6hhI/s1600-h/Attedit2.gif)
Both Blocks have an Attribute with a tag name SEC. When three of the insertions are selected, the common Attribute Tags are available to edit in the Properties palette. Change the value as desired.http://bp0.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMA2MTNaI/AAAAAAAAAII/ZBc7cE3fwP8/s320/Attedit3.gif (http://bp0.blogger.com/_Byf8aDQrvnI/RtSMA2MTNaI/AAAAAAAAAII/ZBc7cE3fwP8/s1600-h/Attedit3.gif)Global editing of Attribute values can still be accomplished with the old, tried and true, -ATTEDIT command. Don't forget the dash; ATTEDIT alone invokes the older (non-Enhanced) Attribute Editor dialog. The -ATTEDIT command exists virtually unchanged since the very early days of AutoCAD, so the syntax is a bit clunky, but it will allow you to replace all or part of an existing Attribute value on all or selected Blocks. -ATTEDIT will also edit other Attribute properties beside value, but one by one, not on a global basis.

There's also an Autodesk supplied Express Tool, GATTE, that globally changes the selected Attributes' value only.


More... (http://cadecorner.blogspot.com/2007/08/editing-attributes.html)

Raggi_Thor
29th Aug 2007, 12:29 pm
And in AutoCAD 2008 you can use CUI to change double clicking into the faster DDATTE :)