PDA

View Full Version : Civil 3D licence at work... and home?



spittle
25th Oct 2007, 10:23 am
I've been told it's legal to get a copy of Civil 3D at home if you're licenced at work. I looked on the Autodesk website but can't find that information. Anyone able to confirm this?

chulse
25th Oct 2007, 10:27 am
If it's on subscription, they should help you out. I think if you have network licenses, you should be able to get a single use lic for home.

At least for my single use license, I'm allowed to have a copy on a work desktop, a home desktop and a laptop. Provided I am the only user and I only use one at a time.

Alan Cullen
25th Oct 2007, 10:51 am
You use the portable license utility to transfer the license between computers. But read up on it first, and understand it before you start mucking around with it, or everything could go pear shaped on you.

Raggi_Thor
25th Oct 2007, 12:02 pm
if you have a network license, lokk for "Borrow license" (in the tools menu?). This is most practical if you have a laptop.

lpseifert
25th Oct 2007, 12:35 pm
From the Autodesk Subscription website


Ancillary Service Description for Home Use of Autodesk Software

Autodesk® Subscription allows Home Use of software programs that you have under Subscription, subject to the terms and conditions outlined below. Home Use is not currently available for all software programs or in all locations. Please contact your Autodesk authorized reseller or Autodesk representative for details on whether Home Use is available for your software program or in your region.

Explanation of Benefit

Home Use means that you, as the licensee of the software program, may install a second copy of the software program at a second location away from your office location under the following conditions:

Such second location may include installation on a computer located at the home of your employees or on your employees’ personal computers.
The use of the software program when installed at such second location shall be to produce work related to your internal business needs or for your employees personal education or training needs.
This Home Use benefit only applies for as long as your software program is under Subscription and only to the number of licenses of the software program that are under Subscription (see “Terms of Home Use Benefit” below).
This Home Use benefit is subject to all of the terms set forth in this document and by installing the Home Use License or otherwise partaking in the Home Use benefits you are agreeing to the terms set forth in this document. The installation of the software program at your work location is referred to as the “Primary License”. “Home Use License” refers to the second installation of the software program that occurs as a result of this Home Use benefit.

Terms of Home Use Benefit

The Home Use benefit is subject to getting appropriate authorization codes from Autodesk (see “Obtaining a Home Use License” below). Subject to the terms set forth below, the Home Use benefit commences on the date of the issuance of the authorization code from Autodesk and continues for a period of 13 months from such date, at which time the software program will be disabled and will no longer function. Home Use Licenses may not be used concurrently with the Primary License and this Home Use benefit does not provide additional license or usage rights. For clarity, if you have one license of a software program under Subscription, you may use that license either at your work location or at a second location; you (or your employees) may not use the Primary License and the Home Use License in both places at the same time. Home Use Licenses are not upgradeable and may not be replaced. Home use may be requested only for current versions of the software programs plus the two immediately preceding versions of the software program. You must have originally and validly licensed and have legally in your possession all versions, including prior versions. Section 2.4 of the Subscription Terms and Conditions applies to the Home Use License and all rights and restrictions set forth therein (including concurrent use, provision of media and authorization codes shall apply).

Home Use by employees is only permitted as long as such employee is employed by you and any use by such employee must cease at the end of such employment. If an employee leaves your employment, you, as the licensee, shall instruct the employee to uninstall the Home Use License from any computer on which it was installed. Any continued installation or use will be considered a violation of the Subscription terms and conditions and the software license for the software program.

Home Use Licenses have the same version and language as the Primary License, and all Home Use Licenses are standalone.

Customers may continue to access web and phone support that the Primary License is eligible for under Subscription, however the Home Use Licenses are not themselves eligible for web or phone support.

Most Autodesk software programs are eligible for Home Use Licenses, however some exceptions do apply. For example server-based or hardware bundled software programs do not qualify. Please consult with your reseller or sales representative about product eligibility when you request the Home Use License Application (see “Obtaining a Home Use License”, below).

Obtaining a Home Use License

If the Primary License is a standalone license, you may use the media in your possession to install the Home Use License of the product. Once the Home Use License is installed you must obtain an authorization code from Autodesk. Standalone Home Use Licenses will have the same serial number as the Primary License on which they are based.

If the Primary License is a network license, you must complete a Home Use License Application and submit it to Autodesk. Autodesk will review the application and issue a serial number for a standalone Home Use License based on the corresponding network license. Home Use License Applications are available on the Subscription Center and from your reseller or Autodesk sales representative. Once the Home Use License is installed you must obtain an authorization code from Autodesk. Standalone Home Use Licenses will have a different serial number than the Primary License on which they are based.

Autodesk may not provide the media for installing Home Use Licenses and if media is provided, there may be charges and other requirements that apply. If no media is provided, you must use your existing media, whether standalone or network, and install the Home Use License as a standalone companion to the Primary License.

Autodesk reserves the right to deny requests for Home Use Licenses at any time and may modify, change, cancel or terminate this Home Use License benefit at any time, without prior notification. The request for the Home Use License should be made by the Contract Manager or Software Coordinator and Home Use Licenses should be used only with their knowledge and permission.

rkmcswain
25th Oct 2007, 01:28 pm
Other than what has already been covered in earlier posts....

A) I would NOT recommend using the PLU. You *will* end up losing a license. This tool worked about 50% of the time for us when transferring licenses from a users old computer to his new one. We finally gave up using it. It's more of a hassle than it's worth.

B) Does your office allow you to VPN into the network? If so, forget installing C3D at home and just VPN into your office, then use Remote Desktop to log into your work PC and use the C3D that is installed there. All the work is done by your office PC, with local access to your work files, etc. All you are transferring to your home computer is the image of your work PC. This is the only way we do it.

Alan Cullen
25th Oct 2007, 01:47 pm
I would NOT recommend using the PLU. You *will* end up losing a license.

And this is why I said to make sure you totally understand it first. It is also why I don't use it. Too prone to problems that cannot be recovered from.

chulse
25th Oct 2007, 02:28 pm
B) Does your office allow you to VPN into the network? If so, forget installing C3D at home and just VPN into your office, then use Remote Desktop to log into your work PC and use the C3D that is installed there. All the work is done by your office PC, with local access to your work files, etc. All you are transferring to your home computer is the image of your work PC. This is the only way we do it.

I've found remote desktop to be way too slow to be functional. Now I use a laptop all the time...

rkmcswain
25th Oct 2007, 03:03 pm
And this is why I said to make sure you totally understand it first. It is also why I don't use it. Too prone to problems that cannot be recovered from.

Understanding how it works has little to do with whether it actually does what it's supposed to.

rkmcswain
25th Oct 2007, 03:04 pm
I've found remote desktop to be way too slow to be functional. Now I use a laptop all the time...

The chain is only as fast as it's slowest link.

Our "home users" run DSL or cable at home and we have no complaints.

rustysilo
25th Oct 2007, 04:23 pm
Or you can simply install at home and not use the PLU so you don't even have to deal with that aspect. Just be honest and only use it at one location at a time.

rkmcswain
25th Oct 2007, 06:22 pm
Or you can simply install at home and not use the PLU so you don't even have to deal with that aspect. Just be honest and only use it at one location at a time.

True.

But in our case, we are not installing company owned licenses on home computers - regardless of Autodesk's licensing policy.

We have provided users with company owned hardware so that they can work at home in special cases though.

You still have the problem of home users not having full access to all network resources that they have while sitting at their desk (or remote logged into the PC at their desk)

spittle
26th Oct 2007, 10:08 am
From the Autodesk Subscription website

I'm guessing this was on the US site?

As our CAD team couldn't find the information on the UK site but we gave Autodesk a call and Yes there is an autodesk Home User Licence Agreement so you can install the software at home. We're just waiting for the exact info on what we need for this from our IT department.

spittle
26th Oct 2007, 02:49 pm
Has anyone got any experience with doing this? We're having a bit of an issue at work - for example if an employee decided to leave how would the company know you weren't still using the software at home. Surely this is the case with every company in the world.

rkmcswain
26th Oct 2007, 06:16 pm
Has anyone got any experience with doing this? We're having a bit of an issue at work - for example if an employee decided to leave how would the company know you weren't still using the software at home. Surely this is the case with every company in the world.

The license holder is responsible for the use of the software. What you mentioned is why we don't allow "home" installs.

However, the "home" licenses that Autodesk allows (if you are on subscription) do eventually expire IIRC.

I suppose you could withhold the persons last paycheck, but you may want to consult legal advice on that.

jdennis
27th Oct 2007, 05:05 pm
yes you can do it. I have done it. I can tell you it is impossible to get ther. I have a copy saved of the application I send. Unfortunately it is on my workstation at the office. Send me an e-mail and I will forward you a copy monday morning. it if fairly simple once you have the PDF form to submit. They send you back a S/N for the product you request. It must be installed as a standalone version.

chulse
29th Oct 2007, 02:26 pm
The chain is only as fast as it's slowest link.

Our "home users" run DSL or cable at home and we have no complaints.

Understood. I have Cable at home but it's still too slow. I work with HUGE datasets though.
As for complete network access, I use a VPN and have full access as though I were in the office. It really freaks people out when I run the plotter from home 60 miles away...

rkmcswain
29th Oct 2007, 02:36 pm
Understood. I have Cable at home but it's still too slow. I work with HUGE datasets though.
Another reason that remote desktop works so much better. Your desktop machine on the LAN is doing all the work.

chulse
30th Oct 2007, 11:40 am
Another reason that remote desktop works so much better. Your desktop machine on the LAN is doing all the work.
I meant that Remote Desktop was too slow for what I do. My laptop has enough guts to do the work, so I just use offline files and sync when I'm in the office