PDA

View Full Version : Solid Hatch problem



Niz
20th Dec 2007, 09:16 pm
Hi everyone!

I have a problem with hatching...to be more specific with SOLID hatch.
I am using AutoCAD 2007 and from sudden i started getting msgs as :
Unable to update the solid fill and
Unable to fill the boundary with solid
I've tried everything...even restarting pc...saving file under different name..everything i could have remembered..but it just won't work.
The weird thing is that in same drawing i have one object hatched as SOLID and this other one i cant...and it is almost same object..
Any ideas??
Thx for all the help

lpseifert
20th Dec 2007, 09:31 pm
Is the problem area odd shaped, with curves/arcs maybe? I've had this problem and had to break the area into smaller areas to get it to hatch.

Niz
20th Dec 2007, 09:46 pm
No :( not really
I even draw area 2 times more from scrach...and it just won't hatch
And this other area that is hatched is same shape as this one...
Its not up to odd shape too bcs i draw it using simple lines.
Is it possible this is sime kind of bug in AutoCAD?

jules_s
20th Dec 2007, 09:47 pm
Is the problem area odd shaped, with curves/arcs maybe? I've had this problem and had to break the area into smaller areas to get it to hatch.

I've had exactly the same thing in 2007.

Even our CAD support (seriously knowledgable guys) couldn't figure it. We were using elipses; a known fault IIRC.

Some of it was drawing error, but we could actually copy the lines/elipses out of the main part of the drawing and happily hatch them....

In the end (i'd been taken off the job by then) I think my colleague went 'old school' and hatched them using a minute hatch scale.

LElkins
20th Dec 2007, 10:32 pm
Niz, can you upload the problem file please?

Cheers

Niz
20th Dec 2007, 10:54 pm
here it is
the drawing is in the process of making ..and i am a beginner..so please don't laugh

SLW210
20th Dec 2007, 11:02 pm
Hatched fine for me.

lpseifert
20th Dec 2007, 11:04 pm
I can't duplicate the problem... it worked properly for me.
Try this... hatch the problem area with a hatch other than solid; then use matchprop to match the properties from the other solid hatch and see what happens.

jules_s
20th Dec 2007, 11:07 pm
Time for an audit on the original file then?

LElkins
20th Dec 2007, 11:27 pm
Time for an audit on the original file then?

An audit wouldn't correct this issue as the file uploaded worked fine.

I will look at this some more tomorrow.

Cheers

Niz
20th Dec 2007, 11:46 pm
I can't duplicate the problem... it worked properly for me.
Try this... hatch the problem area with a hatch other than solid; then use matchprop to match the properties from the other solid hatch and see what happens.

Unable to update the solid fill - i still get this..
really weird
I opened the drawing you attached and I will use that :)
thank you so much
still have no idea why it doesn't want to work with me..

nicogarcia
12th Jul 2010, 12:52 am
Look, I had the same problem and it´s fix when y close the poliline from propiertis panel.