PDA

View Full Version : Cut circles in Autocad



antares
4th Feb 2008, 10:56 am
Hello evrybody i'm new in autocad and i'd you to ask you something

i'd like to cut a piece of this circle :

http://pix.nofrag.com/7/8/2/1bb0b1c7a647f941dbd3a7394b2c0.gif

To have that : (this image had be photoshoped)

http://pix.nofrag.com/b/9/2/f61f71fb84423197c0e2817eedd64.gif

What is the method to obtained the second picture?
thanks and sorry for my english

LElkins
4th Feb 2008, 10:59 am
Use the trim command, and select the 2 lines as cutting edges, and then click anywhere on the portion of the circle you wish to delete.

I can post step-by-step if you require.

Cheers

Ritch7
4th Feb 2008, 10:59 am
hi you can do tha by highlighting everything,~
going to the modify toolbar

selecting "TRIM" then click on the parts you want removed, hope this helps:)

Ritch7
4th Feb 2008, 11:00 am
:D haha u beat me to it lelkins

LElkins
4th Feb 2008, 11:02 am
:D haha u beat me to it lelkins
I saw the chequered flag and thought I had better put my foot down. :wink:

Cheers

antares
4th Feb 2008, 11:03 am
thanks for your answers, i'll try that now :)

LElkins
4th Feb 2008, 11:05 am
No problem.

Out of curiosity, are you planning on then cutting the lines back to the arc?

If so, then look into the FILLET command.

Cheers

antares
4th Feb 2008, 11:06 am
Use the trim command, and select the 2 lines as cutting edges, and then click anywhere on the portion of the circle you wish to delete.

I can post step-by-step if you require.

Cheers

Please make me a step by step tuto if you have the time
thanks

antares
4th Feb 2008, 11:10 am
yes it work with the fillet command but i want to understand how work this trim command ^^
thanks

LElkins
4th Feb 2008, 11:14 am
OK.

Using trim, you can either select the edges/objects that you wish to cut to, or you can allow AutoCAD to calculate the objects for you, which will trim to the nearest crossing element (unless you have EDGEMODE turned on.)

In this case, you can just enter TRIM and the command line and press enter. Then when asked Select objects or <select all>: press enter again to select all, and then click on the larger portion of the circle that you wish to erase.

If you wish to use specific cutting edges then when asked Select objects or <select all>: just select the edges you wish to use.

Cheers

antares
4th Feb 2008, 11:29 am
ok, i didn't saw this fonction :

http://pix.nofrag.com/0/f/0/6605e654b421b1c8e50602ce8c238.gif

it resolve my problem! :)

many THANKS

Strix
4th Feb 2008, 12:50 pm
okay - I thought I was following this thread up until that happened!!

what the heck is it you're really trying to do? :?

what is it you want to end up with? :?

Ritch7
4th Feb 2008, 12:55 pm
lol ahh no i think hes resolved it?! i think :huh:

Alan Cullen
4th Feb 2008, 01:24 pm
No, it doesn't work that way, not if the arc has to remain tangential.

antares
4th Feb 2008, 02:36 pm
So please show me how it could work in picture
because i got french version of autocad & i don't find several things you explain me.

kind regards

Strix
4th Feb 2008, 02:55 pm
what is it you're trying to end up with?

we can tell you the best way to go about it if you tell us what the finished thing is supposed to be :wink: