I dont understand why people import from SU to CAD?

cvriv.charles

I mean, if you know CAD then why use SU? I was under the impression that CAD is better?

With my personal experience with SU,... I loved it. SU is very smart. Just draw. Where AC you have all these extra key strokes and clicks. It's killing me. I have been reading and tinkering with AC and still havent figured out how to sucessfully draw in 3D using AC.

When I first picked up SU I just started drawing and that was that.

But if your pretty good at AC then why would you need SU?

I dont want to use SU because if I do then I wont continue to learn AC.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• cvriv.charles

• Cad64

• stevsmith

The more programs you learn the more versatile you become. This "added value" becomes important down the road when looked at from the perspective of a future employer.

I understand that but aren't they the same thing except one offers more?

I was using SU before AC and I loved it. I was having some trouble modeling certain things, namely very small things. SU was having trouble generating faces and even some geometry was screwy. I was told that SU was really meant for modeling big stuff like bridges and cities etc. This is why I am trying AC.

So far,... I am really liking SU over AC because of the ease of use. SU is smart when it comes to guessing what it is that you want to do. Where AC you have to tell it exactly what it is you want to do. Working on 1 plane at a time?!?! Forgive me if im wrong. I havent completed the book am reading. But so far it seems that you can really only work on a plane at a time.