Want to design a warship for a game.

Command: Manick

I've been wanting to do this for awhile but am having constant conflicting feelings about what program I want to decide to use to create this model with. The model that I want to create will be the BB-63 Missouri / Iowa Class Battleship, and it will either be drawn to scale or downscaled based on official multi-view plans bought from an online store which sells them.

I am fully confident in my ability to create this model in AutoCAD, and although it might take a very long time to achieve completion, I know that I can get a steady amount of work done on each sitting. 3ds however, I am just starting to learn and have never created anything from ever before, while I have constantly been working with ACAD for the past year and a half, with a good number of completed 3D projects. Although I understand that even if I decide to draw it in AutoCAD, that I will have to eventually import it into 3ds anyway to save it as the correct type of file which can then be compatible with the game.

Is it worth it to learn how to use 3ds to create this if I know I can? Many people told me it would be "better" to make it in 3ds, but I was never able to tell what they meant by that, as it was never really explained. Some people said it could be done in ACAD, but also that the importing process might not work all that well and screw it up a little.

Max is more forgiving than Autocad, when it comes to creating non-linear models. And it has a much greater toolset which allows you to create models freely, without any restrictions or limitations. That's why it's easier to create models in Max than it is in Autocad. Max was made for doing stuff like what you're planning on doing.