3d plants/trees in autocad

hay123

Hi,

I have been using ACad for about 10 years, but have mostly drawn in 2D. I am more or less a novice with 3D.

I have seen alot of drawings from programs like REVIT that have really great trees & plants. Is it possible to get realistic planting in 3D Acad drawings?

Can anyone shed some light? Am I missing something, or are plants limited to box like shapes.....

thanks

Hay123

im a novice with 3d too so i got a few examples of 3d drawings to help me out and one of them has trees in it. i'll attach it for you. don't know if its realistic enough for you though.

CADMASTER is the guy to ask. he gave me some tutorials to help me with 3D

-Steven

We have a tutorial here at CT about drawing a 3D tree. Did you check it out?

I've come across a couple of websites that have 3D trees drawn with AutoCAD. I would think these really shouldn't be too involved as a multitude of 3D trees in an AutoCAD drawing might be a drag on system resources when rendering. Anyone here have personal experience with something like that?

Yes, adding 3D plants and trees to your scenes will increase your file size and can become quite a draw on system resources. They also increase render times significantly. There are company's, like Bionatics, that provide great looking 3D plant material that can be used in Autocad and Autocad Architecture 2008 and up. With these plants, you can adjust their level of detail quite easily, so that when you're working, they just look like a typical RPC flat plane object basically, so they don't slow down your work. But when you are ready to render, you just switch the L.O.D. back up to full 3D and render away.

They don't have a plug-in for Map 3D 2006 though.

There are the RPC plants and trees from Archvision.com as well. If you are on subscription, Autodesk has made several hundred RPC's available to you for free.

i'll add up to bionatics, here is an example render with bionatics 3d tree.