AutoCAD/ Turbo Cad etc

shox

Hey Guys

As a complete newbie to the CAD scene ( i start my part

time college next week ) i just want to ask

what the difference is between differnet CAD programmes?

I assume i will be learning on AutoCAD, do colleges usually

train students on the latest versions?

I keep seeing Turbocad being mentioned on CAD sites, is this similar

to AutoCAD?

Many thanks

Angus

Students typically work with the latest versions of AutoCAD.

TurboCAD is indeed a program used to create drawings but, the universal CAD program is AutoCAD. Period. Most engineering firms communicate using AutoDesk's AutoCAD.

Post next week. Bet you're going to use AudoDesk programs.

Welcome to the forums!

Welcome to the CADTutor forum shox.

To compare different CAD programs I would suggest looking at and comparing the "features" of each. This information should be available at the software manufacturer's website.

Most colleges should be completely up-to-date with the software they use to teach AutoCAD. AutoDesk has a special arrangement with educational institutions. At the very least, I would not expect a reputable college to be no more than one year behind the latest release.

the communtiy college i took my cad course at had 2005, i took it in 2008, but in Ca they have done alot of budget cuts to education, my chem teacher can only make 750 copies throughout the semester he used a third of that during the first week. has to save the rest for exams

I am self taught in AutoCad, however, I tend to be loyal to certain software applications even though their may be a better alternative. I started with cheaper and even free software but after working with AutoCad they just did not measure up.

I have tried several versions of TurboCad over the years and although It's not a bad program, it just wasn't AutoCad.