Computer

jlau6888

Hey guys. I'm fairly new to the AutoCAD world and am planning on purchasing a new laptop with the intent on being mainly used for CAD. What is a good computer for this task? I also plan on using SolidWorks on this computer in the future as well. What specifics should this computer have to run both smoothly and seamlessly? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jlau6888

• ReMark

• Cad64

• tzframpton

Welcome to CADTutor, I'm sure you'll find this sit full of usefull things.

I dont know much about Solidworks but have got the requirments from there website which is below but in the case of normal CAD I use a 3gig ram at home & 8gig ram at work (use point clounds at work) and my machines work fine.

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/support/SystemRequirements.html

Hope it helps

Agreed the main things when using AutoCAD is RAM and a good Graphics card if going 3D. Most of todays middle to top spec laptops are ok if the above is upgraded.

I use a laptop for all my work professionally, so my company asked our CAD reseller what they would recommend.

i persoanlly think it could be better spec'd but hey it works fine and is not too slow, you cant beat a st. for speed and heat loss...

my laptop spec...

Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU

T7500 @2.20GHz

789 MHz, 1.96 GB of RAM

hope it helps....

Well I was planning on get a new Mac Book Pro that comes with 2 GPUs (one on board that utilizes 256m shared an one non with 512m dedicated RAM), 4gb ram, and 2.86 core 2 duo. One of my coworkers seems to think that it might not be enough as he uses a gaming PC thats built to the hilt.

I prefer dedicated graphics cards in my computers as opposed to graphic chips (GPUs). Personal preference I suppose.

4GB RAM sounds fine. What OS will you be using?

How much money are you looking to spend here? Xi Computers has a nicely setup laptop aimed at AutoCAD users but I think it runs about $2500.