PDA

View Full Version : what is LAND DESKTOP

rami
20th Oct 2005, 11:14 am
Sorry for my stupid question but what is LAND DESKTOP what it do ?
is that for landscape ?

Lazer
20th Oct 2005, 11:25 am
Yea used for planning of layouts, roads large housing areas etc.
iv never used it myself but to find out more you can try

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=3091031

Squirreldip
20th Oct 2005, 06:46 pm
Think of it as what a housing developer would use: Parcels, Alignments, Terrains etc... There's tools for labelling lots, grading (ponds, house lots etc).

There's a Civil add-on which extends the capabilities adding cross sections, road templates etc. There's a survey add-on which adds a number of tools for tieing the design info to actual ground survey.

I'm a Transportation Engineer (highway design and rail design), my company uses Land with the Civil add-on.

monty0414
11th Nov 2005, 10:41 pm
Surveyors and Civil Engineers use this for surveying to topo'ing land and 3d road design to Site plan engineering.

It used to be called Softdesk before AutoDesk bought it in the lat 90's and before that it was developed by a Civil firm on the East coast and they called it DCA. I've use this every day since version 9.

fenyess
25th Nov 2005, 08:50 am
i use land for ground modeller, make countor line, soil profile...
if i know good 2006 civil3d= land+map+civil.

loveisforever
21st May 2006, 04:02 am
Any "good" and reader-frendly" books that teaches LDD?

Moobz
9th Jun 2006, 08:56 pm
LDD makes scotch taste REALLY good after 5pm during the week.

Stellionate
31st Jul 2006, 10:46 pm
really, I can hardly wait till lunch! :D

iain9876
28th Sep 2006, 01:45 pm
If your a ground modeller, Land desktop (LDD) is terrible.

It's seems like its a ground modelling package written by programmers with minimum thought for the use of day-to-day engineers/surveyors.