3ds max house modeling

liv-k

Hello everyone!

I'm experimenting with 3d studio max (I'm a beginner) and I'm wondering which is the best way to work. I'm working on a small house and I try to put some furniture in it. Is it better to furniture every room seperately or furniture the entire house in the same drawing? It's a little hard to render it though. :?

Thanks

If you're having trouble rendering, try putting the furniture for each room on individual layers so you can turn off what you don't need. There is a column in the layer manager for rendering. You can click off any layers that you don't want to be included in the render.

http://www.cagedflame.com/index.php?name=layermanager.php

Thank you Cad64. So, you suggest I put the furniture directly into the main drawing of the house.

Another problem that I have is when I import the furniture I can't scale them uniformly.

About the same project that I'm working on I have another problem. Yesterday when I tried to put a light in a room everything worked fine. Today, after I saved my previous work, it seems that the photometric light that I used loses it's template. Every time I switch views from one viewport to another template is gone. Of course nothing happens in render. The room is dark. I've doubled checked the position of the light and there are no obstacles in the way. I'm pretty sure that I haven't changed any other settings either. What could possibly go wrong? Any ideas?

thanks

I can't think of any reason why this would happen. If you placed the light in the scene then it shouldn't matter which viewport you're in, the light should still be there. Can you post some screenshots?

I've put this light in the room. I select a template and if I deselect the light and then select it again the template is gone. If I render my camera view I get a dark image. I don't understand because the exact same thing worked just fine the other day. :?

<a href=light1.jpg' alt='light1.jpg'>