Using contours to make a model??

diggers

Hi folks, Im a bit new to this so bare with me. I was told the best place to go was on the net so I'll try to explain my problem. Im looking to create a flythrough of a golf course. I already use a program called teramodel visualiser, but I've gone as far as I can go and its limited software. I have all of the contour plans drafted in Autocad 2007, with eastings, northings and elevations. Now when I import into 3ds max (2009) I can see all my lines but I cant seem to make it into a mesh, or a surface, they are just floating lines.

I have tried numerous turorials, but none of them seem relevant to my version of 3ds max. I was also told it would be better to do the model in autocad but I spent two days on it and it seems im going nowhere. Can anyone advise me the best way to convert my contours into a solid surface. Any hhelp would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tom

Hi cad 64, thanks for the promp responce, yes I have seen this tutorial. And i thought I'd hit the jack pot. But I hit my first snag when it comes to clicking on "AEC Extended" - I dont not have a "Terrain" button, all I have is - Foliage, Railing and Wall to choose from.

I have a friend whos helping me with the texturing, adding trees, and rendering etc, but as hes a building architect he's never had to ues a lot of contours, as I am used to using, and were both struggling with it.

Any suggestions would be great.

Cheers

tom

I hit my first snag when it comes to clicking on "AEC Extended" - I dont not have a "Terrain" button, all I have is - Foliage, Railing and Wall to choose from.

Ah, ok, that's because it's not in the "AEC Extended", it's under "Compound Objects".

Untitled-1.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

A couple of more questions if you've got the time. Thanks to your assistance I can import my plans, change the required areas into terrains, and apply textures and render a very basic model, with a background pic.