FEA crash with a spoked wheel

Lor

Hi to All

I'm new to Inventor and to this helpfull forum:)

In these days i designed an spoked wheel (iron made), because i want to know what is its max stress and safety factor.

But i don't know why each time i run FEA, there is an error that stop the analysis...

inv4.jpg

Some one can help me?

I'm using Inventor 2008 (i know...is old..)

Edited by Lor

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Lor

• shift1313

• rdharvey

• JD Mather

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

the error is telling you what your problem is... either your dimensions are invalid or there are features that are too small to compute compared to the rest of the geometry. find out what they are and just suppress them in your model.. is there hanging geometry because the part doesnt look overly complex and it should be able to mesh it easy enough.

There aren't small features. The FEA work only when i supress circular pattern and mirror...and seems there isn't small angled part outside the solid.

To design all the rods i deleted some features but i don't think that this influences the FEA...or not?

(spam filter :reallymad:)

The part file is 270 kb so i can't upload here...

Try to open the link at the bottom of my first post.

THen click on "quì" and must begin the download.

Thanx a lot for your help!

These errors happen when you are trying to mesh a part with possibly some small fillets or really small features. You will need to simplify the model. For instance the "bead" area on your rim has a very small sunken area that looks to have small fillets. If you made your "rim" flat the analysis would probably look the same as what you have there, only it would not cause any issues.