Spur Gear and Rack

amerdsp

Hello all,

Can anyone guide me how to go about designing a spur gear and rack? Here is what I have so far in Inventor Pro 2009:

- A cylinder (this will be the gear)

- A square rod (this will be the rack)

- Tangent constraint between cylinder and rod.

- In Dynamic simulation, I produced a rolling joint.

Now when I want to create the gears using design accelerator, how do I specify the rod as the 2nd component? I do not have that option.

I am new to inventor and being an electrical engineer who does not know much about gears is not helping either.

Any hints or pointers appreciated.

Thank you for your time and help.

A

amerdsp, you shouldnt need to create the cylinder and square rod. You should be able to have the design accelerator create these components.

What is your end goal for these? are you designing some sort of assembly and need to actually make these parts? Or are you simply just playing around?

Hi Matt,

I think you will find that there is no facility within Inventor for creating a rack per se. I came across this shortcoming myself some time ago when I was asked to design a vacuum conveyor system for a customer of mine. In the end I used the design accelerator to create a single spur gear and generated the rack by drawing an involute curve gear tooth to match and patterning the extruded cut along the rack bar.

I got the involute information from the internet rather than looking it up in text books, a quick search will reveal what is needed.

If there is an automated way of doing this, I could not find it. No doubt J.D. will put me right if there is.

Regards all.

Dave

gears.jpg

Edited by Hopinc

amerdsp, you shouldnt need to create the cylinder and square rod. You should be able to have the design accelerator create these components.

What is your end goal for these? are you designing some sort of assembly and need to actually make these parts? Or are you simply just playing around?