new to the inventor world and i have a few base questions

warlord

inventor 9 edit: 2009

let me start off by saying that i am new to the whole inventor scene, i haven't used any cad software since microstation, and that was just in high school 10 years ago.

ive tried picking up on some software here and there but never could grasp their concepts. so far since microstation ive tried autocad, 3dstudio, xsi, and now inventor.

the hardest part of learning a new program is learning the terminology of that program ie... ((vertice = point = node = vertex) or (face = wall = edge = surface)).

my main interest in inventor is the fact that i like to weld and fab up things that i think that this would compliment it nicely.

but anyway onto my first setbacks.

btw ive went thru the tutorial that was built into the program up until "creating weldments".

1. now i am trying to make a part.

in this case it is an "A" frame suspension component. and since this particular part is often level with the ground i want to be able to sketch it from the top view. but simply rotating the view to the top causes the grid to disappear or technically flatten, and i cannot draw from the top down.

is there anyway to get the grid on the top view?

2. when making parts, how complex can they get. say im making an oscillating fan! and i want to make the blades. would the blades be modeled together with the nose that they all join to or would each blade have to be modeled and the nose seperatly as a part and then both be fixed together as an assembly? and then would that assembly be assembled with the other assembles (motor, cage, stand) in a master assembly so to speak, or is there just one level of assembly and everything has to work in that.

i guess to rephrase that, can different assembles be assembled together in a new assembly? therefore making an assembly that is made of assembles that are made of individual parts?