Extruded letters

abishop

I have a ring about 1" in dia and 1/4 wide. The ring is flat for that 1/4". I want to extrude or whatever some raised letters along the surface. What is the best way to do this?

Thanks

AndyB

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hopinc

• Inventor

• abishop

• Steve_wright

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

text.png

after you have extruded your circle or ring

offset a work plane any distance up to 50mm

start a new sketch on that work plane

draw a circle (but make sure it's approx right for when you place your text on top of that circle)

then go to text... then geometry text.... click the circle

type your text to appropriate size (make sure the direction ect is correct in the edit text box..which is text on top of cicrle)

then finish sketch

emboss text to extruded circle ..there are plenty of options for you to work on

that should be it

well thats how i would do it ...please note i am no expert... but i am quite sure most of the basics to do this is in my explanation

hope this helps :)

Steve :thumbsup:

p.s

This is for inventor 2010...i have noticed on your tag it says "inventor not??" :S

Edited by Steve_wright

Hi Guys,

You don't actually need to offset a plane at all. The two attached examples were created by sketching directly on top of the "puck" and by sketching on a tangential plane to the arc.

You can dimensional drive your text, or use constraints, to locate it. If you wish to place text, say with centre justification, right click on it and turn off the "text box." You will then be able to see the justification point of your text and use this for positioning.

On the right hand part the emboss has been wrapped to the surface. One of the options that Steve mentions in his post. Another you may not notice at first is that you can select a different colour to the base part for your emboss, if you wish.