Can you create a mechanical drawing from a 3d drawing?

peregrin8r

Hi. This is my first post here. I am self taught on acad 2008, and have created a complex 3d drawing over the last year or so. But I need it to be represented in a mechanical drawing. I tried flatshot, but this is not true to form. Is there a way to do this? (an easy way) :unsure:

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• peregrin8r

• tzframpton

• ReMark

• nestly

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I guess you mean a working drawing with orthographic views. Go to help and look at soldraw and related commands.

I'm curious what you don't find acceptable about FLATSHOT?

Either way, the Autodesk University links below cover Flatshot, the old SOLVIEW/SOLDRAW/SOLPROF commands, and the newer SECTIONPLANE tool although I'm not sure 2008's SectionPlane has all the power of the version shown in the video tutorial (1st link)

Now Flatten That: Producing 2D Output from 3D Models

Back to Flat: Producing 2D Output From 3D Models

As I said, new to this, self taught. When I used flatshot, I got an ortho view or something like that. Not what I wanted. Now I see how to do it. Thanks for the help.

Here are some pics of my work. It's a 1/6th scale DeHavilland Tiger Moth. I originally made a 2d draft of this, but have since made many changes in 3d without a record of the changes. I thought maybe it would be easier to convert back to 2d than it appears to be.:sweat: tigermoth 6.jpg:D

tigermoth 4.jpg

tigermoth 7.jpg

tigermoth 5.jpg

tigermoth 2.jpg

tigermoth 1.jpg

tigermoth 3.jpg

Flatshot should give you exactly what you need depending on the view you have setup prior to using the command. Why do you say otherwise? What kind of "view" were you looking for?

Maybe you need to also look at the SectionPlane command as well.

Yeah, I think it's the prior command part that I have a problem with.

I have no idea what you just said. Prior command part???