Extrude/Cut on Two Planes

Vandall

Hi all,

I am new here so please be gentle.

I have been using AutoCad LT for a few years and recently moved onto 2012 LT at work, however I was able to purchase a full version of both AutoCad 2012 and Inventor Professional 2012 as I am keen to get into 3D modelling etc.

Usually i pick a project that I am interested in and use this interest to learn the software and with Inventor I am modeling a Lotus 7 Replica chassis etc.

So far I am doing well I have most of the basic chassis components and assembled them using constraints.

MY PROBLEM

I have now been stuck on a chassis member for about 5 days and admited defeat so need your help.

The metal rail is a 25x25x3.2 shs and it needs to be tapered in two directions at one end. I can't seem to get the angles right and feel like I am going around the houses rather than using a simple technique that I am sure exists.

I have attached a simple screen shot of what I am trying to draw.

Can you please help?

ScreenHunter_01 Sep. 28 19.17.gif

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Vandall

• JD Mather

• Sphiinx

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi Sphiinx,

thanks for getting back so quickly.

How i read the part is that the 61.5deg face also slopes back 34deg so is slanted on two planes with a mutual base point. How would I do that to the face?

In Inventor - Create a line at the first angle.

Create a Workplane using the line and one of the base workplanes at the second angle.

Use the Split command with the workplane.

There are other techniques as well.

Im sorry , the quick response was wrong, so i removed it quickly... the revised is up now. sorry for that.

You have not attached a correct example?

Of course this is far far easier to do in Inventor than AutoCAD.

You have not attached a correct example?

Of course this is far far easier to do in Inventor than AutoCAD.