Importing Wire Harness from AutoCAD Electrical to Autodesk Inventor

AutoNub

Hello!

I'm somewhat new to AutoCAD Electrical and Autodesk Inventor. I've taught myself a lot over the past few weeks, though. Actually, I had never used either program before about a month ago.

So I've had some measure of success, as I've managed to publish a full electrical schematic using AutoCAD Electrical and I've made it fairly far into my wiring harness project. So far, I've successfully managed to import my wiring information from AutoCAD Electrical to Autodesk Inventor, but not without some minor problems. My reason for this thread posting is actually to address one such problem:

Currently, when I import a wiring report from AutoCAD Electrical to Autodesk Inventor, I have to manually go through every single wire type in my report (from Autodesk Inventor) to match the wire types with those located in the Autodesk Inventor library. I've tried multiple wire Layer Names from AutoCAD Electrical, including identical names to those found under the Generic wire category from Autodesk Inventor's Cable & Harness Library. For example, "14AWG_BLK" and "14AWG-BLK" are among those Layer Names which have been tested. Despite matching Layer Names (AutoCAD Electrical) with Part Numbers (Autodesk Inventor), with case-sensitive and exact precision, wires are still not generated automatically during the Import Harness Data process; it still requires manual matching of wires.

Does anyone have any idea why this issue is present and/or how to make the process more automated for future operations? The goal here is to save time by eliminating the need for manually entering wiring relationships between AutoCAD Electrical and Autodesk Inventor.

Thanks in advance for any assistance or helpful information you provide!

Have you gone through the Inventor tutorials?

I think exactly this problem is addressed by one of the tutorials showing you how to use or create a translator file.