Edit shell feature failed

Scavenger

Hi,

I am a German student working on a project in Singapore. I worked quiet a few times with Inventor before, but i would say I am still a beginner.

Actually I am working on a medical device. The design should be gun-shaped.

I have never used the shell-function before but I was told by a colleague how it is meant to work and so I trusted in the function.

As you can see a made a solid body of my gun. Then I cut it in the middle and I wanted to use the shell-function to actually get the shell.

As you can see in the attached file that works as long as the thickness of the wall is 0.5mm or smaller. I need a thickness of 2mm at least.

Whenever I change the thickness to a value bigger than 0.5mm the following error occures:

Edit shell feature failed

praeziser tester.ipt: Errors occurred during update

Shell1: Could not build this Shell

The attempted Shell operation was unable to solve for a vertex. This may have been caused by thin faces in the input or an overly large thickness. Try with a smaller shell thickness or by removing such thin input faces.

I think you guys know how to change the thickness, so you can try if you get the same error as I do....

I tried some stuff with the shell-function and normally thinner Parts than the desired thickness just stay as they are. I never had the problem I have with my project. I can not find the mistake I made!

The Design is not finished till now, so it may look a little strange. I just wanted to test the shell-function in a lazy minute. Then the error occurred....

I know the file is totally a mess and some of the sketches may not be completly constrained. But in my thinking that should not be the problem, should it?

Hopefully my English is not to bad and you get what is the problem!

Thanks in advance!

I am to stupid to get my file uploaded to the forum, so I uploaded it to a friends webspace:

gunclan.de/downloads/graphicwork/Scav/praeziser tester.ipt

Tobi