help with plotting

ShiraCM

I have a floor plan, approx 90 meters, that i want to convert to a pdf and then print onto an A4.

1. what is the best scale to use?

2. how on earth do i set this up??? Ive played around with layouts and viewports and i just cant seem to get it to work out.

(Im a real newbie.......)

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• ShiraCM

• eldon

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Is your model space floor plan drawn to full size? Yes/No?

Do you know how to create a viewport in a layout? Yes/No?

Do you know how to assign a scale to a viewport? Yes/No?

Is the floor plan dimensioned and did you add any text (ex. - room name)? Yes/No?

Maybe this will help. Source: AutoCAD Everything, Author: Kyle Reese

"You'll have to utilize a paper space layout and at least one viewport.

Think of a viewport much as you would a window through which you can see the objects you created back in model space.

Viewports should go on their own layer.

The viewport layer should be set to "no print" in the Layer Properties Manager.

Viewports can be resized using their grips.

Viewports can be moved, stretched, rotated, copied and deleted.

Viewports are assigned a scale that is why we draw our model space objects full size.

Once a viewport's display is set up it should be locked to avoid inadvertently changing it.

Plot from your layout at a scale of 1:1 (1 unit = 1 mm). AutoCAD will handle scaling the contents of your viewport(s) automatically.

Your title block and border and any notes should be placed in your layout.

Text and dimensioning associated with your model space objects can go in either model space or in your layout. There are a few different ways this can be handled. Investigate each and choose the one that works best for you."

1:500? Wouldn't that be more fitting for a site plan? I was thinking 1:50 but since I don't work in metric units I could be mistaken.