New guy - Where to focus efforts??? OVERWHELMED!

PbsFinest

I just stumbled across this website while trying to find information on autodesk training. I have to say, I am glad I did! There seems to be an abundance of useful information.

My background: I work for a light commercial/residential construction company. Last year, I graduated with a degree in construction management. Through the course of the program, there were several cad classes. My first semester was basic Autocad, but every class after that dealt with Revit Architecture. I haven't had any formal training with Autocad Architecture.

My dilema: I finally conivinced my boss to step up and buy some real software. We now have the Building Design Suite Premium 2012 which contains all of the Autocad programs, all of the Revit Programs, as well as a few others. I really don't know where to focus my efforts in learning the software. I am far more comfortable with Revit than Autocad, but every contractor/engineer/architect I work with uses autocad.

Would I be better off learning the program that they use, or should I just stick with Revit? How does that affect the communication between the two systems? If I design a project with Revit, how will it translate to the programs they use? Vice-Versa?

Thanks guys!

While revit will import Autocad drawings, it won't work the other way round, at least in 2010, don't know about 2012. You'll have to export your work to dwg to send drawings to Autocad users.

Welcome to the forum :)

A basic knowledge in AutoCAD is never wrong, at least you will need to communicate between the programs whatever you do.

That said, if your boss says that you should work in 3D-cad, then you should work in 3D-CAD and do the best you can to convince the rest to follow - 3D-cad is coming more and more and it's always good to be ahead of the curve.

Where are you at in the world btw?