Units

MemberX

HI,I am new in using autocad.

I am very confuse about setting units,Basically I have to draw floor plans and section of building as I belong to civil engineering field. Is it compulsory to set units and limits before drawing or afterwards I can set it.

My confusion is also that I have to take printout on A4 size paper,and size is given in mm around 420x297mm and as my plan units are in m (room size) if i will convert it to mm it will in 1000mm or more which cross the paper size.

ii)I have a problem regarding using offset with multiple command.

If i enter 4m but line offset on measuring giving 3.79 or 3.96etc I am not getting why these error are coming.But if I use only through offset or single offset or any line command these errors are not occurring.

Please need your advice on these as soon as possible.

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• MemberX

• ReMark

• nestly

• eldon

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I think you are missing some questionmarks there, but I'll take a stab at some of what I think are your questions

Is it compulsory to set units and limits? No. I never set Limits on my drawings. You should set Units beforehand. Or better yet, set it in your template and then never worry about them. I tend to recommend setting Units to Unitless but it is equally right to set it to the unit you are using - in your case, meters. Since that is what you are using in the Model Space.

Regarding paper size vs. room size - You should look into using the Layout Tab and the use of Viewports to get your scale correctly. Remember to never scale your drawing in Model Space - always, always, always draw everything in Model Space in a 1:1 scale.

I have a problem regarding using offset - I can't say why your OFFSET command messes up, it shouldn't. Can you explain more how you use the Offset command?

Thankyou for your reply:)