polar tracking problem

Rik612

i'm new to autocad, a week, but not new to 3d modeling. I seem to be having trouble with polar tracking on. With this activated and in front view I can only create a line in up or down (Y) direction. I cannot create a line along the z axis. This happens randomly so I must be overlooking a setting somewhere. I'm sure there is a simple adjustment to this but I just cannot find it

hmmm i would think that if in plan view (top) you z went into the page, in front view it should go up and down.

what do you have checked in your settings box?

I think I know what the OP means. When rotating the view to "front" (or left, right, or back) using the viewcube, polar tracking only tracks left or right. Polar will not track "up" or "down" as it will if the view is anything other than perpendicular. As far as I know, the only way to have polar tracking work in "front view" is to use the view commands to switch to "front" rather than using the viewcube, as this method reorients the UCS so that up on your screen is "Y", not "Z"

Demo -->

here is the gizmo and view...http://i1206.photobucket.com/albums/bb447/Rik612/acgizmo.jpg in this pic the gizmo looks like horizontal is left / right which is Z in the pic. It doesn't matter who is right or wrong. i'll work it out in the plot and the gizmo should only be a concern when coverting for use by another software package.

I cannot move Right or Left when the polar tracking is on is the issue. I used it without a problem 2 days ago but now its not working. I must have clicked something and not sure what it was.

hmmm i would think that if in plan view (top) you z went into the page, in front view it should go up and down.

what do you have checked in your settings box?

Wait, 2D (as in LT) is top view ain't it? Eeeeeesh, it was too early in da mornin'.:oops: When I gotta do plan views and elevations on the same plane, I conceptualize completely differently.