I have a 3ds model i want to annotate with dimensions

djwang

Hi guys hank you for readig my thread i have a 3ds model i want to show dimensions of. will autocad do this ? i am a complete noob and this is a college project. do i have to make sure the units and scale are the same in both programs aswell ? not sure about units setup in autocad.

thanks for any advice

DJ

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• djwang

• ReMark

• Rik612

• SLW210

Top Posters In This Topic

Were you planning on exporting to 3ds or DWG file format?

A unit in AutoCAD can be equal to an inch, a foot, a mile, a millimeter, a meter, or whatever you want it to be.

Would you be working in metric or imperial units?

The models are book shelves for a libary mainly just boxes , their are some warddobes to do and a clothing island, the furniture ill be modeling in 3dsmax, then i want to bring it into autocad and be able to do dimensional scale drawings. ive managed to get a 3ds model into auto cad using the import panel. in terms of units ill need to work in millimeters (metric). i was told this is easy stuff but am a nood cadet with auto cad but its fun learning new stuff at college. Am not sure what to export out too i thought i could do the modeling in 3dsmax and then finish in autocad printing the dimensional drawing

thanks remark

i did nt know you could do that its my first time doing anything with autocad, i use 3dsmax mostly but my lecturer said i need to have better technical skills. i have 11 days to do this project so am nervous ha ha

I am not a big believer in dimensioning 3D objects. Can it be done? Yes. You just have to be a bit careful making your "picks" when it comes to dimensioning the object. I'm "old school" so I typically revert to creating the 2D views (extracted from the 3D model) and dimension those instead.