Civil 3D Imperial or Metric

NEWMAN1006

If I'm using cad does it matter if I use Imperial or Metric?

Whats the difference just the units?

For example I have 1 project that needs to be done in metric should I open that in the Metric version or just convert ?

Sorry I'm a Noob:?

Thanks for the Help

The project calls for the drawings to be done in metric units then that is precisely what you give the client. Arbitrarily deciding to create the drawings in imperial units can only lead to mistakes and/or confusion later on in the project don't you think?

What kind of project in this?

Is it going to be reviewed by people on both sides of the Atlantic expecting to see dimensions expressed the way they normally expect to see them?

Where is the project going to be built? In the U.S.? In Europe? Somewhere else?

If the drawing is to be in Metric, start it in Metric. Using and imperial template will cause blocks to be inserted at the wrong size, linetypes will be the wrong scale, default scale list will be wrong, dimension scaling will be wrong, basically you'll have to change pretty much everything....

The above is for AutoCAD, I don't know if C3D is "smarter" about the conversion...

Newman, (please understand my comment is meant to be light-hearted - I added this disclaimer after reading it through and realizing I couldn't write with the sarcastic tone that was intended.)

I suppose it wouldn't matter if NOONE else will EVER "touch" the drawing (i.e. xref, insereted, referenced, etc.). You would be correct that arbitrarily, 1 drawing unit equals what ever you say it is, regardless of what the software assumes you are using.

But if anyone else has to work on/with the drawing, you really should be careful about keeping the units straight. Would it matter if the area of a parcel is 5 square kilometers vs. 5 square miles? YES.