Autocad 2005 & 2010 on same computer

gerryc

Hello,

I am new to Autocad 2010, and would like to use my old 2005 version also.

My question is, is it possible to have both programs installed?

thanks,

gerry

Yes, you can install both, but whether you'll be able to activate one or both of them depends on your licensing.

Technically speaking it is possible to have more than one version of AutoCAD on a computer. Legally speaking........well, that is a different matter as nestly has alluded to.

My question is... why? AutoCAD 2010 has everything 2005 does plus a whole 'lot more.

I can't speak for the OP, but ....

Multiple.jpg

I would have never moved up from 2005 if I had not been able to keep/use both.

And a valid response. Just as long as there's a proper motivation to keep it around then obviously I'll never disagree with it. Me personally, I'm a "dive in head first" type of guy. Gimmie the latest and greatest and let me fly, haha.

;)

On one of my previous computers I had AutoCAD 2000, 2004, 2007 and 2009 all loaded up. I kept telling myself to remove the "older" version every time I upgraded but I never listened!

My current home computer has 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2013 on it. The first two are there just for giggles and for answering the rare 2004/2007 questions that pop up here.

Thanks for all the info.

The reason for keeping 2005 is that I have some projects that have to be done right away, and I don't have time for the learning curve right now.

I forgot to mention that I am using Windows 7. I read that someone had installed 2005 on Windows 7 in XP compatibility mode. I doesn't work for me. I get the following error when I try to run 2005: " FATAL ERROR: Unhandled Access Violation Reading 0X0000 Exception at 623a20h". Any idea how to solve that?

thanks'

Gerry

The reason for keeping 2005 is that I have some projects that have to be done right away, and I don't have time for the learning curve right now.