pipe cutting template

Guest gary_provencher

Guest gary_provencher

OK, I will admit that I am a noob, and that the answer may be easy. That being said, here is what I am looking for:

I have these two pipes, one is 4" diameter (running horizontally) and the other is 6" diameter running at a 30degree from horizontal angle. eventually the two hit, and at that intersection I need to make the 4" pipe join to the 6"' pipe, which then continues on its merry way farther down the structure. So I can extrude the two pipes, and I can even make a union and then remove the excess of the 6" pipe, because what I am really looking for is: a cutting diagram for the joint where the remaining 4" pipe hits the 6" section. A cutting diagram for the short piece of a Y joint.

I can make this image appear on my screen, but I am then stumped as to how to unwrap the pipe into a flat section so that I can see the curvature of the cuts required in planar view, for the real pipe that I have on my shop floor. I tried to use a .lsp program that was presented on this forum bu a German chap, but apparently I am still messing up. Anyone have a simple solution for me?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• paulmcz

• lazyross

• gunsablazing

• ulticad man

• 3 years later...

I've run into the same problem. I'm trying to make a full scale template of a 3D solid pipe. I know how to layout the template for two pipes that join on the same plane. My problem is that there are 3 pipes coming into the same point. I have a 3d solid of the pipe but, can't figure out how to unwrap it. :oops:

Thanks, Hop

I only know how to do this the draughtsman's way. Project rays from a circle drawn for each pipe and map the intersection points. I've made quite a few wrap-arounds to help pipefitters mark off pipes for cutting this way.