Another sheet metal unfold problem!

bearracecars

Hi all!

I'm excited I found cadtutor and this is my first post. Over the years Ive used cnczone but the autodesk forum seems to be dead unless you need a autocad to gcode macro. Can't even upload a .ipt extension. I'm a newbie to inventor 2011. I've used autocad almost daily since 2005. I am seeing a need for me to move onto the paramatric modeling side of cad.

Please remember that i'm very new to this and i know that i'm am probably doing this backwards. I drew this part in an assembly by extruding the base then extruding the sides with notches to fit around tubing that is the assembly. I was thinking that i could just take that part, convert to sm then unfold for a flat pattern. So you know where i'm going? I can't unfold it.

I did go into the sm defaults and set my material thickness. Still not sure if i did that right also.

What would the proper way be to create a sm part like this?

I also have included the assembly file that the part was created in.

Thank you for the help.

Bear

side wheel cover.ipt

frame assembly.zip

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JD Mather

• bearracecars

• kencaz

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Parts are all drawn in assembly. I haven't saved parts individually out of assembly. The part file that is there is the first one i started working on. Like I said I'm new at this trying to train myself. So please explain!

These are the only dimensions needed to fully constrain this area of the sketch (use Symmetry, Equal =, Coincident constraints).

Did you intend this .015 offset?

Is your design intent for the blue arc to also be offset .015 bigger than the green projected circle?

Constrained.png

These are some "oddball" angles.

Are these really what you want?

Is width and height the controlling design intent dimensions or the angles?

Angles.jpg

Thank you Dr.Mather.