Elevation rendering

shellb

I am still a CAD student. I am using version 2008. I am currently working on a basic house elevation. When I look up examples of elevations on the internet, they are all very detailed. I am having problems accomplishing such detail on my rendering. For example I am working on some shutters which are looking pretty pathetic. I thought I would add a gradient “shadow” in between the slots on the shutters to make them look realistic. It didn’t work. So then I saved it to a jpeg and thought I could add some detail in Photoshop but that feels too complicated. It feels like it should be easier than that. I haven’t taken any 3-D classes yet. I’m wondering if that might be part of my problem. Also when I print my drawings they are always black and white. I’ve never had a class where we produce color drawings. Are the renderings I’m seeing on the internet much more advance AND are they done with other software besides AutoCAD? Basically how are these other renderings (which basically look like photographs) done?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• f700es

• jgfry

• tzframpton

• shellb

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Regarding black n white colour prints, are You selecting monochrome or black and white print when you are plotting? or may be your plotter can only plot black and white prints.

Regarding rendering - well ppl do use photoshop to render acad drawings to give it realistic effects. It is a little difficult (atleast for me) and you need to learn photoshop atleast little more than basics to do so. Try autocad impressions, personally I have not used it (it is available in limited countries), but I have heard that it gives more realistic affects than acad.