+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40
  1. #11
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yeah, I know. I'm a wild man with wild ideas.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  2. #12
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    I guess I'm the only one who's on board with the subscription model? Seems to make things great for me. It makes sense both financially and logistically. I have two licenses of AEC Industry Suite and I couldn't be happier with the price and the amount of software I get.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,550

    Default

    I am not against it but I am against spending more money a year. My 2 seats of BDSP are about $1,100 each and 1 seat of IDSP is $1,200 with 6 seats of LT are something. The A/E/C suit is $2,800 each a year. No savings for me.

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  4. #14
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,050

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    I am not against it but I am against spending more money a year. My 2 seats of BDSP are about $1,100 each and 1 seat of IDSP is $1,200 with 6 seats of LT are something. The A/E/C suit is $2,800 each a year. No savings for me.

    Sent from my Z981 using Tapatalk
    The AEC I.C. is $2,800/yr, but has more programs than BDSU, and no up-front purchase. Sure, BDSP/U has a cheaper annual subscription but there is a huge investment on the front end ($17k for BDSU, can't remember what it was for BDSP).

    AEC I.C. would take 7 years to match the BDSU + Subscription costs.

    So, people who do need the equivalent to BDSU are getting a bit of a bargain. To those who don't need it, and only need one or two programs, are paying more in the end. Take my personal example... for me to begin my business endeavor as I did almost twenty months ago now, I would have needed $17k sitting around just to purchase BDSU since I need AutoCAD full, Revit OneBox, and Navisworks as an absolute bare minimum. Instead, I was able to rent BDSU for one year for $4k. This year, it switched to the Industry Collections, which gave me what I needed and more (for instance, BDSU didn't come with ReCap Pro, AEC I.C. does) for even cheaper at $2,800 per year. Saving $17k for someone to launch into his own, legally, would have been a major undertaking to say the least. I think this will boost more companies to get into software that they couldn't previously get because of high-cost scenarios for smaller companies, or managers/superiors that flinch at high-cost software for their CAD department without fully understanding the eventual investment advantages.

    In all this could prove to be a major boost in our industry since the high-cost out right purchase for items like BDSU are now entirely reasonable for companies to purchase, thus putting the young and aspiring CAD designer, or the optimistic and curious long time CAD designer to get their hands on many more solutions. I've heard that the ones who will be negatively affected are your giant corporate firms who have a large amount of licenses, and your smaller single CAD designer at a company, or single freelancer CAD designer who only needs one or two programs. Everyone else should technically benefit if you add it all up.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,550

    Default

    For new users of course it's a savings as they no other option for getting AutoDesk software now that subscription is the only option available But I pay less for both BDSP and IDSP for about the same number of applications ($1,100 + $1,200 < $2,800). That is what hurts their plan for me and others like me already on maintenance plans. I have no doubt in my mind that they will at some point "make" us switch. I agree it's a good solution for new users and start up companies. I think that it just shows that sometimes a "one-size-fit" options is always not the best answer.
    Now if they let me lock in a price with the 60% discount then I am ALL on-board with it. I can drop the IDSP and move my 2 seats of BDSP over to the A/E/C collections.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #16
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,449

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    I never said anyone was being forced, for now there is still a choice to keep perpetual and pay a lot more each year for the upgrade. Since they state they are a company moving to subscription only, the implication is pretty clear that in 2020 or so everyone will have to move to subscription or jump off the upgrade train and keep the perpetual license.
    Actually, that is exactly what was said.

    The statement "everyone will have to move to subscription" is exactly the same as "being forced".

    Maybe not at this moment, but it's coming.

    And this is ±18 months after the now co-CEO said (bold text is from me)

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Anagnost
    Do we have any plans to end maintenance? No we don’t, and our current intent is to keep the program running as long as our customers use it. Just like we don’t have plans to force customers to adopt subscription. If a customer wants to keep using their perpetual license, then they can continue to do so. If they want that perpetual software to be upgraded with the latest and greatest from Autodesk, then I encourage them to take advantage of maintenance. Keeping maintenance for our most loyal customers is the right thing to do.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  7. #17
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    I guess I'm the only one who's on board with the subscription model?
    Who knows, but I think what most people would be happy with, is a choice.

    When Autodesk first introduced rental several years ago, people did have a choice, and they overwhelmingly chose perpetual licenses on maintenance. Not rental.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,453

    Default

    It all depends are who you work for and what you do. Heck, we have a recent addition to this forum who claims to be using release 14 which if I recall correctly came out in 1997. That's twenty years of not spending one more dime than he had to. Certainly must stick in AutoDesk's craw. LOL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,550

    Default

    Rental is a great option for temp or contract workers.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #20
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,550

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    IIRC R14 is one of the last editions that doesn't call home when it is installed
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Autodesk Community Maintenance
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2016, 08:40 pm
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2014, 03:21 pm
  3. Autodesk Feedback Community Maintenance March 4, 2014
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2014, 07:20 pm
  4. Autodesk Feedback Community Maintenance April 15th 2013
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2013, 08:50 pm
  5. Help Shape the future of Autodesk Products at Autodesk University 2009
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2009, 02:40 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts