+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    64

    Default How to increase space between objects?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a row of rectangles, spaced evenly and I need to increase the spacing. How do I set the space between each of them to be a specified amount?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Typically the ARRAY command would be used to generate them, which makes adjusting spacing really easy.

    If they are not an ARRAY, it is much more tedious.

    You may want to erase them, then use ARRAY, it will save you a lot of time.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Typically the ARRAY command would be used to generate them, which makes adjusting spacing really easy.

    If they are not an ARRAY, it is much more tedious.

    You may want to erase them, then use ARRAY, it will save you a lot of time.

    Agreed, use the ARRAY command, when it comes time to set the "spacing", be sure to add the "space" to the width of the object. ARRAY only "sees" the gap between a point, not the space between the object. So if you have 1x1 squares and you want 20 with a 3" gap between them, you'll use the spacing of 4" to get it.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I tried out Array and it seems fine; thanks for the idea.
    The Help doesn't say, does it support expressions, like progressively increasing the spacing?
    E.g.:
    Let spacing between O1 (1st object in the array) and O2 be S; then, between O2 and O3 it would be (2xS); between O3 and O4: (3xS); and so on.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rlcad View Post
    I tried out Array and it seems fine; thanks for the idea.
    The Help doesn't say, does it support expressions, like progressively increasing the spacing?
    E.g.:
    Let spacing between O1 (1st object in the array) and O2 be S; then, between O2 and O3 it would be (2xS); between O3 and O4: (3xS); and so on.
    No it does not, that sounds like a good application for a lisp.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    bluessdjs's Computer Details
    Computer:
    personal computer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    newbie learning cad

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,500

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by bluessdjs View Post
    newbie learning cad
    Perhaps you should get some training then.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Objects appear in model space only
    By Hobblenobble in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2016, 06:54 pm
  2. Send all objects on certain layer from paper space into model space.
    By gaddyzt in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2014, 06:51 pm
  3. Copying objects from one layout space to another
    By ADAM'S_APPLE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2011, 04:20 pm
  4. Moving objects from paper space to model space
    By schneeflocke in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2009, 09:19 pm
  5. cant change the objects in paper space!
    By kayab in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2006, 07:43 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts