+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Unhappy

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I would check the hardware acceleration setting first. Change and test to see if it makes a difference. If that doesn't solve the problem then I would use the "Reset Settings to Default" option found on the Control Panel under the version of AutoCAD you intend on running.

    I would not update the drivers at this time.

    If you want to give the C++ libraries option a try then go ahead. What do you have to lose?

    To make matters worse, both of my Autocads get stuck at loading and don't start at all. . This happens regardless of whether I have have my internet on or off, my antivirus on or off.

    Installed a trial of Autocad 2018. Ran for the first time. Drew a few lines and a rectangle. Closed it. Started it again. Same damn issue. Screen stuck at loading with silver line animation sliding as usual. To be on safer side I did not migrate any settings and started as a fresh clean slate.

    This seems to be issue in the window registry or some system folder that messes up with any version of autocad.

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    I'm not sure what you really expected to happen.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    I was hoping that at least 2018 would start up fast...

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    It does if your system isn't all messed up. You need to fix the problem you have before you do anything else. Loading a newer version of the same program wasn't going to solve the problem as you found out.

    Are you going to try any of the other options discussed previously?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,798

    Default

    Have you tried complete uninstall then a reinstall?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Have you tried complete uninstall then a reinstall?
    No, I just did a regular uninstall from the control panel everytime. I must do a clean full wipe out of Autocad and then see...

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    I uninstalled 2012 yesterday. After that I installed windows 10 software repair tool. It ran for an hour and a half. Today I checked. The startup time of Autocad is now reduced to 5 minutes from 20 minutes now. I'm still in a dilemma whether I should wipe off Autocad files after uninstall to further reduce the startup time.

  8. #28
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,821

    Default

    Rock1 I run a laptop with I3 and only 8Gb of ram win 10 so it takes about 1+ min to start, but starts every time. Anyway if you google "Remove Autocad" there is method information available to really clean all of Autocad from your PC not just Uninstall.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Rock1 I run a laptop with I3 and only 8Gb of ram win 10 so it takes about 1+ min to start, but starts every time. Anyway if you google "Remove Autocad" there is method information available to really clean all of Autocad from your PC not just Uninstall.
    Yeah. I"ll have to do a clean wipe. These long load times are really irritating..

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Did a clean wipe out of AUtocad. My startup time is now 3-4 minutes. Sometimes it takes 2 minutes.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD 2013 - Deleting / saving EXTREMELY slow compared to 2012
    By Ixath in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2016, 03:35 pm
  2. AutoCAD 2012 Running Slow...
    By iamthemilk in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2014, 03:50 pm
  3. AutoCAD LT 2012 running slow, hardly using any memory
    By plrob in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2012, 06:02 pm
  4. Lisp in Startup Suite Causing Slow Save and Close - Cad2012
    By pardavis in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2012, 12:51 pm
  5. Autocad 2012 seems slow to load and crashes often
    By Abbyjay in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2011, 02:19 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts