+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Autosave

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default Autosave

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm working in AutoCAD 2017 and inadvertently clicked the "no" to "save changes" rather than "yes". I lost a ton of work. In previous versions, to my recollection, it was a fairly simple procedure to go to the .sv$ file, rename it and recover the work minus 10 minutes or so. Anyone know the secret to that now?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by herguth1 View Post
    In previous versions, to my recollection, it was a fairly simple procedure to go to the .sv$ file, rename it and recover the work minus 10 minutes or so.
    That has never been the case. See below, from the Autocad Help files:

    If AutoCAD crashes or is otherwise abnormally terminated during a session, you can recover data saved in .sv$ files by locating the autosave file, renaming the .sv$ extension to dwg and then opening that file in AutoCAD. The autosave file will contain all drawing information as of the last time autosave ran. When AutoCAD closes normally, .sv$ files are deleted.
    If you didn't save when closing then all the work you did is lost.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default

    You've sharpened my recollection, it was when the program crashed you could go to the autosave location, find it and rename it. Fortunately I created several detail drawings which cover the entirety of the machine so very little was lost, just relocated.
    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,703

    Default

    The *.bak file will bring you back to the last hard save point, but you probably already know that.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,973

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    The *.bak file will bring you back to the last hard save point, but you probably already know that.
    Probably, but still well worth mentioning, better to err on the side of caution.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ammobake's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ammobake's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    Computer:
    HP 2240 SFF Workstation
    Motherboard:
    HP
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU E3-1225 v5 @ 3.30ghz, 3.30ghz
    RAM:
    18 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia NVS 510
    Primary Storage:
    Confidential
    Secondary Storage:
    Confidential
    Monitor:
    4 total (2 - 27 in monitors below, 2- 22 in monitors on top)
    Discipline
    Construction
    ammobake's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Drafting & Architecutural Design (gov/military)
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    201

    Default

    A friend of mine ran Autocad for a month without using autosave one time and he lost all the work he did. They brought me in to try and recover it but it was gone.

    Wasnt' a co-worker but a government guy lol.

    Temp folders can also have a saved copy of the autosave file. You can find the correct temp folder path for your computer in Autocad Options>Files>Automatic Save File Location.

    Could be worth a look.

    -ChriS

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ammobake View Post
    A friend of mine ran Autocad for a month without using autosave one time and he lost all the work he did. They brought me in to try and recover it but it was gone.
    An entire month? How is that even possible unless he left Autocad open every day, never closed the drawing, and most importantly, never saved his drawing even once during the entire time he was working. That's just an accident waiting to happen. It was never a matter of "if" but "when" he would lose all his work.

    Also, as I mentioned previously, Autosave files are only relevant if Autocad crashes. If the program is closed normally the .sv$ file files are deleted. So the OP is out of luck on that one.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    So the OP is out of luck
    Not quite true you can un-delete a file with the right software. You must do it as soon as possible. A hard disk lesson a file is not deleted its space is marked as usable and then at some stage can be overwritten.

    http://www.tucows.com/windows/is-it/...file-recovery/
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Not quite true you can un-delete a file with the right software.
    I'm not sure what you're talking about? The OP did not delete any files. He closed Autocad without saving, so he doesn't have any files to un-delete.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  10. #10
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,166

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I believe he is referring to the autosave files that get deleted with a successful save.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. need a autosave lisp... Autocad's autosave just does not cut it.
    By MikeP in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 28th May 2015, 02:44 pm
  2. Autosave
    By madriver in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2012, 04:52 pm
  3. Autosave crashes cad
    By loopfish in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2010, 08:45 pm
  4. Autosave?
    By RocketSurgeon in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2009, 04:28 pm
  5. AutoSave - *.SV$
    By bleeargh in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2007, 06:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts