+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Autocad Project

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default Autocad Project

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, I need help redesigning this in AutoCAD Fuzion 360
    I'm trying to focus, but there's so much bustle, & as if an upheaval, due to rapport, no one wants to let me focus on my goal. It's a web shooter by the way.



    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    How much experience do you have creating 3D models?

    How much experience do you have using Fusion 360?

    What are your ideas about redesigning the apparatus shown above? If you cannot articulate those ideas you won't be able to redesign it.

    Is this a class project?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    How much experience do you have creating 3D models?

    How much experience do you have using Fusion 360?

    What are your ideas about redesigning the apparatus shown above? If you cannot articulate those ideas you won't be able to redesign it.

    Is this a class project?
    Hi, Thanks for replying

    I have average experience using Fusion 360/creating 3D models, I can Sketch, Create, Modify, Move things around, etc.

    I want to redesign into a more efficient model, ideally metal.

    This is not a class project, it's a Personal Project.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    So what kind of help are you seeking? Be specific.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So what kind of help are you seeking? Be specific.
    Here is what I'm trying to make:


    Here is a more realistic example of how:


    The above diagram is that of a stencil combined with strainer to create a spinneret, a motor bond to the bottom of a medicine bottle by say glue, the bottle wrapped with teflon tape, and connected to the Cartridge (Comprised of a box within a block, with a torus opening blocked by a sphere, and then a cap/nozzle to finish the cartridge) on a hinge. All inside a pipe, which connects back to the cartridge,linked to a brace on my forearm.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    For a mock-up what you describe would probably be suitable but don't you want to design and ultimately build something a little more finished (i.e. - professional looking) both in design and fabrication? Maybe even something that could be 3D printed?

    Personally, I'd sit down with a pad of graph paper, pencil and eraser and work out each component leaving out such things as medicine bottles, glue and tape. Give some thought/consideration as to how this device could be manufactured and assembled (so it doesn't fly apart the first time it is used).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    For a mock-up what you describe would probably be suitable but don't you want to design and ultimately build something a little more finished (i.e. - professional looking) both in design and fabrication? Maybe even something that could be 3D printed?

    Personally, I'd sit down with a pad of graph paper, pencil and eraser and work out each component leaving out such things as medicine bottles, glue and tape. Give some thought/consideration as to how this device could be manufactured and assembled (so it doesn't fly apart the first time it is used).
    Well, I didn't mean medicine bottle par say, just an example of the shape I need there. I was hoping you might help me with this project on AutoCAD so I don't have to go through all those choppy menus

    I gave you the schematics so that you could possibly sketch a CAD file for me to print, now that you get how it's composed (I'm guessing).

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    So you have changed your mind and want to do this in plain AutoCAD not in Fusion 360. OK.

    I really don't have a full/clear understanding of the components. The image above the sketch is too small to be of any use and your rudimentary sketch leaves out a lot of detail. I've helped someone here, in the past, with a project that was done completely in 3D but he provided a lot more detail along with actual dimensions and material thicknesses. It took a fair amount of my free time and a lot of back and forth. FYI - this is not the sort of work I do on a daily basis although I like to think I'm pretty good when it comes to 3D models.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So you have changed your mind and want to do this in plain AutoCAD not in Fusion 360. OK.

    I really don't have a full/clear understanding of the components. The image above the sketch is too small to be of any use and your rudimentary sketch leaves out a lot of detail. I've helped someone here, in the past, with a project that was done completely in 3D but he provided a lot more detail along with actual dimensions and material thicknesses. It took a fair amount of my free time and a lot of back and forth. FYI - this is not the sort of work I do on a daily basis although I like to think I'm pretty good when it comes to 3D models.
    Hey, there's no rush. I did want to do it in Fuzion 360, but again, I can wait - Take as long as you need. I have all the time in the world Also, I can give you my measurements if you'd like

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm willing to help. If I want a job to do all by myself I'm sure my wife can suggest a dozen for starters.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. AUTOCAD 2013 project#4
    By dld4ever in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2013, 03:10 am
  2. Problem concerning my first AutoCAD project
    By Crrot in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2013, 10:57 am
  3. AutoCAD project
    By Cfm21 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2012, 08:23 pm
  4. Autocad project - beginner
    By jimcro55 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 6th May 2011, 11:43 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts