+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You came here looking for help and it would be nice if you answered some of the other questions as they may have a bearing on the situation.
    I did and they don't seem to be posting. I responded to every single post, thanks.

  2. #12
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    618

    Default

    Uploading to something somewhere and post a url.
    Google drive is what i do.
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Do you know what programs the two drawings were created in?

    So you first tried opening each drawing then you next tried bringing them into your drawing as xrefs?

    Your boss didn't request that you change the architect's or designer's drawings did he?

    This is the third attempt at a reply.... I keep sending replies and nothing posts :/

    The drawings were created in earlier versions of AutoCAD, not sure but it tells me this when I attempt to make a copy.

    I am just trying to open the drawings and I eventually can after two alerts, but I cannot modify the layers.

    Background: We gave these drawing to a designer to make some minor alterations to our new office plans, she repeatedly sent back incorrect changes (moving office walls, adding elements we didn't ask for etc.) This was just costing too much in money and time. We have a budget and a schedule for our move and she was eating through it like crazy. The changes we asked for were very minor and as a former interior designer I was asked to make some changes to the kitchen millwork and counters - nothing big. I remember enough about AutoCAD to trim some lines right? Apparently not. Hope this explains it a bit better. Sorry, my replies keep disappearing if they are not quick reply it seems.

  4. #14
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bz...UZESWdNSWJvYmM

    I have taken out the masthead layer as it has the designers name and I am not looking to broadcast the issues we have with her publicly.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Your posts were awaiting moderation, links can't be posted without moderation until after 10 posts.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #16
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Starting with really basic stuff, are you going to the Model space to try working? I opened your drawing and I can modify everything I have tried so far. You can ignore the other warnings since they didn't send you the xref files. There could be information missing since this was possibly done in a vertical product and not exported to regular autocad.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  7. #17
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    I have moved your thread to the AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output Forum.

    For the message in post #7, you are missing some xrefs, find them and attach them or just ignore, then detach if not needed.

    For the proxy objects, you will need the program that created them, maybe it was an AutoCAD vertical product, or the appropriate Object Enabler if there is one.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #18
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Success!! I had the architect resend the file and I used Trueview and now it all seems to be fine. Not sure if anything changed from what he sent me before but it seems to be working fine with the new file (maybe I saved them weird) but it's all working now!

    Thank you EVERYONE for all the help! You guys are lifesavers

  9. #19
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Here is the file with the proxy objects showing.
    Attached Files
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  10. #20
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Be careful. If you are sending back to the architect, and if the Architect has not already updated to version 2018, he/she will not be able to open a 2018 file format. When time comes to save your drawing there is an option to save DOWN to 2013 file format. That should be sufficiently old, since the 2013 file format was used right up until 3/22/2017, which was the day before yesterday.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Add on to an existing command?
    By squareknees in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2015, 07:35 am
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2011, 07:19 pm
  3. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2011, 06:27 pm
  4. Rotating Already Defined Work Planes and Work Axis's
    By Randy Chard in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2009, 02:08 pm
  5. Using an existing drawing.
    By legend in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2007, 05:32 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts