+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Beam Tags

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    addesigns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    232

    Default Beam Tags

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I edited the default beam tag so that it would display the (z Offset Value). What I am lost at is if it is possible to make the tag smart so that it only recognized Existing or New. I am looking to use Tag All and have one for each of the following


    1. Existing beams
    2. New Beams


    It is possible to have the tag only Tag those beams that are on the existing Phase Created or New Construction? If so, how does one go about doing this? Reason is I want to show the engineers the value of doing things this way versus the way they currently want our documents to show.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    You won't do this with the Tag itself, per se, but you can easily do this if you have properly modeled your Beams on the correct Phase. By isolating only the Structural Beam Category, and then using Phase Filters, you can adjust this to Show Existing (which doesn't include New) and use Tag All. Then change the Phase Filter to Show New (which doesn't include Existing) and use Tag All. So instead of using the Tag to understand what phase it is, you will manipulate the View via the Phase Filters instead.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    addesigns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    232

    Default

    That is a great solution. Muchas Gracias. I will definetly have to go this route. I do have one more question. If I have some beams at the reference level is it possible to work the tag so that it does not show the (0'-0")? I have a feeling this is not possible and I will just have to pick those ones after the fact and select a different style tag from the properties drop down but please inform if I am mistaken.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    Two solutions: either adjust your View Range temporarily so you're not seeing the beams that are at the 0'-0" location (so for instance, bump up your Bottom and View Depth to 6" AFF to hide the beams that are supporting the floor below), or create a Filter and have ready in your template to temporarily add to your view to hide any beams equal or less than a certain height.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    addesigns's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Many thanks again, I will use these tricks to make it work in my favor. Thanks for the speedy response! GO WILD!!!

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,039

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Wild are looking great this year. I'm hoping for the best for those guys. Such a deserving group. Stars will have to try again next year unless they win out the last twenty games, which is very unlikely.

    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensioning Beam's
    By matramurena in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2015, 01:38 pm
  2. Cope Beam
    By mdbdesign in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2012, 12:53 pm
  3. Differentiating Beam tags
    By caddman6425 in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2011, 12:27 am
  4. Cut beam with beam Radiused/Straight Beams
    By mattbarb in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2008, 04:42 pm
  5. Beam Dimensions
    By Thaumaturge in forum Blocks, Images, Models & Materials
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2007, 10:19 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts