+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46
  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by wezzo18 View Post
    use the orbit function to look around the object
    I did but it is a wireframe which I did not construct so deciphering it is a bit problematic. Typically cad techs drawing something in 3D will use solids or surfaces so when the objects are viewed in Conceptual or Realistic visual styles one can get a better sense of what they are looking at. Neither of those visual styles work in the case of a wireframe model especially one where everything is draw on the same layer and in the same color. I'm not a mind reader either.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    do you know what i am now talking about?

  3. #23
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    so is my problem fix-able?

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Let's back up a second.

    What are you drawing?

    What are the two objects supposed to be in the last drawing you posted?

    When I measure distances on any of your objects they are quite small. Are the objects drawn full size or did you draw them "to scale" as one might do on a drafting board?

    Are you working in imperial or metric units?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    i am using units. the scale is 0.001 = 1 mm. if you go search on the internet door grille frame you shall see what i am talking about. i have a side view of what that corner piece is. the corner piece is two separate pieces put together but i have trimmed it to make it easier for me.

    let me send you the side view of what i am drawing

  6. #26
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    okay now with this side view i want you to extrude the view so you can see what i am talking about. i have labelled it. it is the 2D side view
    Attached Files

  7. #27
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    So when I measured a line and AutoCAD reported back to me it was 0.009 units long in reality it is 9mm? Why didn't you just use a metric template instead?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #28
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    i haven't done any courses in autocad but im studying next year. im going into architecture. just look at what ive sent you

  9. #29
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    After I got rid of the one overlapping object I was able to extrude the side view using the PressPull command.

    It appears you created the grille or louver as a 3D solid so why didn't you do the same with the other objects in your drawing?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    wezzo18's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i have done everything i cane but i cant seem to get that corner piece. if you can some how make that corner piece for me i can use it to finish my product

Similar Threads

  1. Turning off 3D Object Snap?
    By jjatho in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2015, 01:38 am
  2. Turning object snap on/off within a macro.
    By Mirkin in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2015, 05:11 pm
  3. Having trouble turning mesh into solid
    By octo12 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Apr 2013, 03:25 pm
  4. Applying a Surface/Turning a series of Curves into a Solid Object
    By gp11g08 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Mar 2012, 07:33 pm
  5. turning a line into a solid
    By rookie37 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2010, 02:23 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts