+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default Strange Behavior or Bad Setting?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Folks,
    I'm using Autocad 2012 and just ran into a problem in my drawing.
    I will describe the symptoms:

    *My USC icon at the bottom left of the screen doesn't look right. Its just X and Y and 2 lines without any arrows.

    *Trying to draw a 2 x 2 square box.. The box will look square on the screen as I draw it but the dimensions being shown will not match.. One side will say 2 inches while the other side says some crazy number like 9 inches or something.

    Its almost as if my viewport and my USC are in two different worlds but I don't think I've done anything to cause it.

    What setting tells autocad to keep the USC with the viewport?

    More info: My lines in the Y direction don't match with the length displayed but if I draw it then go to measure, the measurement will be correct..
    Last edited by Murphy625; 31st Mar 2017 at 04:14 pm. Reason: additional info:

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I just figured out that if I go to another location in my drawing, it works fine. But if I try to draw something within the structure I've already drawn, it doesn't work. Huh?

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Would this be a 3D drawing by any chance?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Would this be a 3D drawing by any chance?
    Yes.. all 3d solids..

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    From your description of the UCS icon wouldn't that mean you are using a 2Dwireframe visual style? The icon is white in color? Have you tried this?

    "At the command line, type "UCS" then choose the "World" option. Next type "Plan" and choose "World".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    From your description of the UCS icon wouldn't that mean you are using a 2Dwireframe visual style? The icon is white in color? Have you tried this?

    "At the command line, type "UCS" then choose the "World" option. Next type "Plan" and choose "World".
    I am using 2d wireframe.. My screen background is white so my UCS (x,y) indicator is black.

    Tried the USC>>World and then Plan>>World and no difference. My UCS icon doesn't look right.. its just two lines like an L.. no z indicated, no arrows, nothing.

    When I draw what looks like a square box on the screen, the X and Y are not even close. X is at 2 inches, Y is at 16 inches.

    Just noticed something.. This problem has something to do with an object I drew into the drawing. My project sits on a sloping hill and so I drew in the ground plane to help me visualize the slope that goes from east to west. From north to south its flat. If I'm looking at my slope from the east and I try to draw something within the area that represents the slope, that's when ACAD does the funny stuff. If I try to draw a cube outside of that inserted block, everything works fine. My UCS coordinate still looks funky though. I've never encountered this before.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    You've skewed the UCS to match your ground plane that's why it looks odd from a top view.

    Can't you reorient your UCS so it lines up with the object on the hill?

    UCS = User Coordinate System
    Last edited by ReMark; 31st Mar 2017 at 07:36 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You've skewed the UCS to match your ground plane that's why it looks odd from a top view.

    Can't you reorient your UCS so it lines up with the object on the hill?

    UCS = User Coordinate System
    Its only giving me problems when I try to draw in an area of the ground plane... If I go outside that area, the UCS, or whatever is causing the problem, doesn't do it. So in other words, if I go to the far edges of my drawing limits and draw a box, it works fine.. if I try to draw it towards the center of the drawing limits, in an area where the ground plane is drawn, it acts up.. Boy am I confused on this one.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Yes.. the USC is matching the ground plane for some reason when I try drawing in that area! How do I turn that off?? When I try to draw a cube, the UCS tilts it to match the ground plane. I don't know why.
    The ground plane is a mesh.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It sounds like you have Dynamic UCS enabled. Disable it (there is a toggle for it in the Task Bar) or freeze the layer it is on.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Strange behavior of NCOPY function
    By danglar in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2017, 08:47 pm
  2. Strange behavior of files in Autocad LT
    By samifox in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2016, 10:46 am
  3. VERY strange font behavior
    By Sbeth85 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2013, 09:25 am
  4. strange ZOOM OBJECT behavior
    By driutheman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2006, 02:45 pm
  5. Strange behavior when using certain aliases
    By PLRuffo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2006, 05:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts