+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default Select text and make its style current (LT 2016)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi. Just wondering if there is a procedure that I can use to select a text object and make its style the current text style.


    I can do this with dimensions with ^C^C-dimstyle;r;; because the -dimstyle option allows you to select an object. But the -textstyle option doesn't have this.


    Am I missing something or just another gap in LT?


    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member SunnyTurtle's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SunnyTurtle's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Civil
    SunnyTurtle's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafter CAD
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Rail, Roads, Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    158

    Default

    I cannot see a way to do it as you describe.
    I would change via the properties menu or the Annotate ribbon
    MATCHPROP will do this but it will also change other thing like rotation
    I believe these apply in LT

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks Sunny. Just hoped there was a quicker way as we have a lot of styles and wading through the list is a bit tedious.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    The only thing I can suggest is have a sample of your text posted next to your working area then you can grab it move it and overtype it. We have this for some of our common design layers.

    Steven-g you out there ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Just one of those silly things where they have functionality for one thing (dims) and not another (text).

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,798

    Default

    I moved your thread to the AutoCAD LT Forum.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    I moved your thread to the AutoCAD LT Forum.
    Cheers. I always get a little lost in here
    Last edited by SLW210; 6th Apr 2017 at 12:51 pm.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,055

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No way I can see, or think of, to get the style from an existing element, looks to be one of those things that would be nice, but is just out of reach for us LT users. Match properties is about all you can do, or give the name of a style to set as current. If you want a method to pick a style then maybe have a toolbar/palette with various styles setup.

Similar Threads

  1. Set a desired dimension style as current style without going into the dialogue?
    By kizaerf in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2014, 10:04 am
  2. LISP to make a selected text style current
    By SN00PY in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Sep 2013, 09:44 pm
  3. Change text style of current text
    By muck in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2013, 04:38 pm
  4. Make LAYER, COLOR, LINETYPE current,, that works with DIMENSION, TEXT too
    By pryzmm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2010, 12:38 pm
  5. Can I make a line for text style in the ACADDOC file?
    By AQucsaiJr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2009, 05:44 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts