+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default Invalid of incomplete DXF input -- drawing discarded

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,


    This is my first forum post and I have been doing a lot of searching before coming here so please be nice!


    I'm having a problem when trying to open a DXF file in AutoCAD LT 2017, I'm getting an error saying:


    'Invalid of incomplete DXF input -- drawing discarded'


    I have an issue with a drawing where there are lots of blocks and line types that can't be purged out. Normally with our drawings if you DXFOUT and DXFIN it then allows you to purge everything but when I get this error I hit a dead end.


    Unfortunately I can't upload the drawing itself here due to my companies data security policy but if you need any more details please ask and I'll see what I can do.


    Thanks!


    P.S. The file itself is saved in AutoCAD LT 2010 and I'm trying to open it in 2017, I've also tried 2013 but this gives me the same error message. All of our 25,000+ drawings are saved this way and we only have access to 2017 and 2013 versions of AutoCAD LT yet this error only shows on a small amount of drawings.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    In your search did you happen to come across this article posted at the AutoDesk website?

    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/searc...discarded.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the quick reply ReMark.

    I tried to open the DXF file in word but get the attached error message. I've contacted our I.T. department to hopefully get this fixed so I can try your suggestion. I'll let you know if it works.
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Maybe contact Autodesk and see if they can find the problem and perhaps give a permanent solution for you.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Do you get the same error if you DXFOUT from AutoCAD 2013?

    Never use Word to edit a DXF, use Notepad or other plain text editor like WordPad or Vim. Word has a tendency to add stuff in a clandestine manner.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ok our I.T. department found a solution. All of our drawings automatically save as 'AutoCAD LT2010' so I was getting a 2010 .dxf file, he simply saved it using the 'AutoCAD LT2013' option and it then allowed the file to be DXFIN'd without crashing.


    Thank you both very much for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. Errror Message :invalid input while assigning CanonicalMediaName
    By PrasadUddanti in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2016, 04:25 pm
  2. "Drawing Discarded"
    By gotchy in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2015, 10:12 am
  3. Invalid or incomplete DXF input Error message
    By gbuckley in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2013, 04:02 pm
  4. Incomplete drawing
    By MisterJingles in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 24th May 2012, 10:57 am
  5. Incomplete drawing
    By michaeloureiro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2008, 08:13 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts