+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default Electrical Symbols

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    Does anyone know where I can get a full library of Electrical symbols please?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    Do you want to pay for them?

    Keep in mind that anything you get for free will be worth what you pay for them. Personally, I would make my own to suit my standards.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Personally I agree with RobDraw. Create your own blocks. However, there are those who don't have the time, the inclination or just don't care what they use as long as it is free. In that case check out the CAD/BIM Blocks Library at the CAD Forum. Since the website caters mainly to people who utilize the metric system just make sure to check the units of any drawing you download in case it matters.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark1878 View Post
    Hi,

    Does anyone know where I can get a full library of Electrical symbols please?
    Here you go:
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...l=1#post534913
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the advise !

  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    Shoot, I took them as well
    Thanks Tanner
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,048

    Default

    No prob, enjoy.



    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Morning Guys,

    I'm back on this.. I am useless with CAD!

    Basically what is the best way to do this, for example I start a new drawing, I want to be able to access a library of electrical symbols. I'm getting so many different answers, insert blocks, use DC.. I'm stuck?

  9. #9
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    As you are finding out, in AutoCAD there are many ways to do the same thing. It's up to you to find out what works best for you by trying out all the suggestions.

    Do yourself a favor and do some studying or enroll in a basics course. That will help get the ball rolling.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,549

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I would save those symbol drawings somewhere that you and others, if needed, can access them. Perhaps on a server in a shared folder. Once there in ANY open drawing type ADC (autocad design center) and the Design Center window will open. Click on the folder icon on the top left to open one of these saved symbol drawings. Open it and then select block from the list under the drawing name. You should have a window full of blocks that can be clicked and dragged into your working drawing. Easy as can be.

    Screenshot_3.jpg
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Electrical symbols ?
    By richard3009 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2009, 01:42 pm
  2. Electrical symbols.
    By DHES-LTD in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2008, 11:29 pm
  3. Electrical Symbols
    By Mechwing in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2007, 08:26 am
  4. Electrical symbols
    By distillator in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2007, 02:12 am
  5. Electrical Symbols
    By Rharring1 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2006, 10:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts