+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Finding Electrical, Voice & Data Elevation Blocks - Impossible

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All,

    I was wondering where in the world you could find receptacle, voice and data elevation blocks to use in drawings? I have scoured the internet for HOURS and can not find anything!!!! Are they built into the CAD database? Is there a way to create your own configuration?

    Below would be examples of what we are looking for:

    https://1drv.ms/i/s!AjmWIwWFv-aWg5ANHcWUtp25ozL3Xg

    https://1drv.ms/i/s!AjmWIwWFv-aWg5AOtS_xGrZlXIqrNw

    Thanks!

    Tim

  2. #2
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,899

    Default

    You have answered your own question, at worse you have to create them and save them.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...trical-Symbols
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No, AutoCAD does not include a full library of blocks for every discipline (including electrical) although it does have some sample blocks that can be found on the Tool Palettes.

    You should practice your search skills. On my first try I found a website with a block for a data socket along with multiple 3D outlets (1 gang, 2 gang & GFI) from which the 2D views (top, front, side, etc.) could be extracted using either the Base View or Flatshot command. You can also check the websites of manufacturers. Some of them will have free 2D and sometimes even 3D CAD blocks available for downloading. Look under the heading "Resources".

    One example. You can find CAD drawings of a duplex receptacle here...https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...les/BRY5362GRY

    I suggest that you just create your own. Judging by the images you have linked to it wouldn't take very long to create blocks of those objects. 10 minutes maybe and that includes a 5 minute coffee break.

    Just curious. You're drawing interior elevations and want to denote the location of outlets, switches, etc.? I wouldn't put too much detail into them since by the time you print out the elevations the outlets/switches, compared to the size of the wall they are on, will be quite small.
    Last edited by ReMark; 6th Apr 2017 at 11:19 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD Electrical 2013 Data Links
    By JBS1959 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2015, 07:18 pm
  2. ACAD Civil 3D elevation data pop up window issue
    By Tad_Thurston in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2011, 05:16 pm
  3. Finding Blocks
    By rjaywilson in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th Dec 2008, 08:50 pm
  4. Transfer Ortho Elevation data to Plan views
    By Morphim in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2007, 01:30 pm
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Jul 2007, 08:20 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts