+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default Filtering 3d solids

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, I've got big assembly with 3d solid parts. Any ideas how can I find identical parts?
    Last edited by JamesBorubar; 29th Apr 2017 at 12:07 pm.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Are all identical parts necessarily on the same layer? If they are then SELECTSIMILAR should work. If not then all the solids will be selected. Under the same scenario QSELECT should work as well.

    Unfortunately what I have seen from many users dabbling in 3D is they construct their model(s) on layer "0" then override the color of the object. If this is what you have done then I doubt SELECTSIMILAR would work, however, QSELECT should work using the criteria "3Dsolid" and the "color" assigned to the objects.
    Last edited by ReMark; 7th Apr 2017 at 11:44 am. Reason: qselect.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    Probably looking for the same thing.
    I still need a better workflow to filter small parts, bolts etc, coming from dwg as converted import files.

    This guy is developing that looks like what you might want.
    He did mention it will be available soon on autodesk app shop.
    Since it is a dll i wait for the availability on app shop before testing it..

    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610


    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Until such time as it is available what are you recommending as a temporary solution?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    646

    Default

    If you are lucky some dwg export from eg Tekla structures have a different 'material' for bolts. Look for something that can be filtered.
    It will probably not on layers.. (as i said, i'm looking for a tool to come to filter based on solid volume or mesh area or some other 3d property)
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Are all identical parts necessarily on the same layer? If they are then SELECTSIMILAR should work. If not then all the solids will be selected. Under the same scenario QSELECT should work as well.

    Unfortunately what I have seen from many users dabbling in 3D is they construct their model(s) on layer "0" then override the color of the object. If this is what you have done then I doubt SELECTSIMILAR would work, however, QSELECT should work using the criteria "3Dsolid" and the "color" assigned to the objects.
    Thanks, but it would be too easy ....
    Unfortunately this is exported dwg assembly from, probably, Pro Structure and almost all parts are on one layer.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halam View Post
    Probably looking for the same thing.
    I still need a better workflow to filter small parts, bolts etc, coming from dwg as converted import files.

    This guy is developing that looks like what you might want.
    He did mention it will be available soon on autodesk app shop.
    Since it is a dll i wait for the availability on app shop before testing it..

    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610


    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610

    Thanks Halam,

    Did you try this solution?

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    The parts are all on one layer. OK. Are these parts identified as blocks?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    I tried comparing the DXF values of (2) 3DSOLIDs
    1 That I made and a copy of that entity in the exact same location.
    Of the 400 +- geometry values, 2 had changed.

    So I doubt you will be able to identify identical pieces.

    Due the fact that the solids geometry values are stored in a binary format, decrypting the info is all but impossible without AutoDesk reveling their secrets. -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The parts are all on one layer. OK. Are these parts identified as blocks?
    No blocks, just 3d solids. Of course they are grouped on separately layers. Like Beams, Plates, Bolts and so on.
    But I need find the identical parts inside these groups.
    Differences in geometry are usually not too big.

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering out objects in ssget
    By jesset in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2017, 05:50 am
  2. Filtering Vertices
    By grouch19 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2013, 09:57 pm
  3. Filtering objects in ActiveSelection
    By Grenco in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2009, 10:41 am
  4. Block Search by Filtering
    By The Buzzard in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2009, 08:30 pm
  5. Layer filtering
    By Meatarian in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2005, 02:22 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts