+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by David Bethel View Post
    I tried comparing the DXF values of (2) 3DSOLIDs
    1 That I made and a copy of that entity in the exact same location.
    Of the 400 +- geometry values, 2 had changed.

    So I doubt you will be able to identify identical pieces.


    Due the fact that the solids geometry values are stored in a binary format, decrypting the info is all but impossible without AutoDesk reveling their secrets. -David

    But AutoCad can read volume of 3d solid ...
    It seems it could be possible.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,363

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesBorubar View Post
    No blocks, just 3d solids. Of course they are grouped on separately layers. Like Beams, Plates, Bolts and so on.
    But I need find the identical parts inside these groups.
    Differences in geometry are usually not too big.
    So the only way to differentiate between two bolts the exact same diameter but different lengths would be by their volume. Is that what you are attempting to do?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So the only way to differentiate between two bolts the exact same diameter but different lengths would be by their volume. Is that what you are attempting to do?
    Yes, but I don't know how to set filter. What filter in AutoCad can do it?

  4. #14
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    617

    Default

    This one sure has a lot to filter, but not 3d props (?) There should be a alternative way in retrieving a selectionset based on a 3d bounding box. Not easy..

    https://apps.autodesk.com/ARCH/en/De...en&os=Win32_64
    Last edited by halam; 8th Apr 2017 at 10:18 am.
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halam View Post
    Probably looking for the same thing.
    I still need a better workflow to filter small parts, bolts etc, coming from dwg as converted import files.

    This guy is developing that looks like what you might want.
    He did mention it will be available soon on autodesk app shop.
    Since it is a dll i wait for the availability on app shop before testing it..

    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610


    https://plus.google.com/105412362761001542610
    I've tried AVC_SelectSame.bundle. It works pretty good!
    Many Thanks Guys for your help
    James

  6. #16
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,723

    Default

    Using massprop the only common object would be the volume the "principal moments" are the same only if the objects are in same plane ie turn 90 the 3 values will be the same but in different order I J K, J I K so if you were to sum them then parts may the same, would need testing.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #17
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesBorubar View Post
    I've tried AVC_SelectSame.bundle. It works pretty good!
    Many Thanks Guys for your help
    James
    Hi, I've found problem with mirrored parts: the same volume and the same Area ...
    Last edited by JamesBorubar; 29th Apr 2017 at 12:52 pm.

  8. #18
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    617

    Default

    This app is available now. Not tested it myself yet.
    https://apps.autodesk.com/ACD/en/Det...en&os=Win32_64
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  9. #19
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    617

    Default

    This tool works good for most of my needs!
    Its definitly worth the 5 bucks

    https://youtu.be/I9O0_fSmoCc

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Halam, I agree with you. Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Filtering out objects in ssget
    By jesset in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2017, 05:50 am
  2. Filtering Vertices
    By grouch19 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2013, 09:57 pm
  3. Filtering objects in ActiveSelection
    By Grenco in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2009, 10:41 am
  4. Block Search by Filtering
    By The Buzzard in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2009, 08:30 pm
  5. Layer filtering
    By Meatarian in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Feb 2005, 02:22 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts