+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default How do I make this into 3D with a taper?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This is a very simplified example, but I have a base to a device that is angled. How would I extrude (or whatever method you recommend) to make it 3D?

    There is actually other "stuff" on top of this, but I just drew up some blocks so you understood what I was dealing with.

    screenshot.35.jpg

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Draw the LEFT View and Extrude the distance you need.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    it's so easy to make, without using the taper command , what you need to stand on the left side elevation and draw this triangle and then forced extrude with the value of wide of the rectangle of top view above then you need to move it again to rear elevation and draw again the opening in this view and make extrude for short distance and make subtract , then you will got you looking for, hope I help you

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    The openings at the end of the triangle can also be created using the PRESSPULL command.
    Last edited by ReMark; 27th Apr 2017 at 10:35 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The openings at the end of the triangle can also be created using the PRESSPULL command.
    +1 PRESSPULL...survey sez, that's the #1 ANSWER!
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot taper using solidedit
    By Ninoshka in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Nov 2014, 03:34 pm
  2. How to dim slope and taper
    By lucas3 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2014, 07:37 am
  3. 3d Taper Troubles
    By CiCAD in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2011, 03:27 am
  4. How to taper faces
    By humaironline in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2009, 08:17 am
  5. Can i taper a linetype?
    By Coey in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2008, 06:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts