+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default Light (mrOmni) passing through geometry (Viewport only)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All

    I am completely stumped with this issue, even after finding many posts of people having similar problems.

    I am producing some external night-time AVRs (for the first time) and so have populated the scheme with a bunch of mr omni lights to make it look inhabited. The problem I am having is that these lights seem to pass through the majority of the geometry, walls/floors etc, in my scene (viewport, not rendered yet).......Ok as I typed the not rendered part of that sentence I decided I should before wasting peoples time, low and behold it does not happen in the render, only the viewport.

    Any ideas how I could rectify this or would that slow my machine to a crawl trying to recreate that within the viewport.

    Many thanks

    Steve

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It doesn't really matter what it looks like in the viewport. It's the final rendered image that matters, but having said that, what version of Studio Max are you using? I'm running 2016 and if I set the viewport display to "Realistic" I don't get any light passing through geometry. See below.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Changing non-profile geometry to construction geometry?
    By Wallabey94 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2014, 08:37 pm
  2. Variable Not Passing Contents?
    By treaves04 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 31st Oct 2013, 03:45 pm
  3. light emits from center of image instead of light source
    By ThrashMetal in forum Cameras, Lighting & Rendering
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2013, 08:45 am
  4. Passing variables between functions
    By nzgeocad in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Aug 2009, 11:29 pm
  5. Shaped light source - i.e., fluorescent light bulb
    By SaigoLives in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2009, 10:29 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts