+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default Very Old TurboCAD files

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi, we have some very old 95-97 vintage TurboCAD .TCW drawings which we would like converted. Tried Turbocad themselves and they do not have anything that old running which could do the job. They thought the files were tubocad version 4.

    About 120 files need converting and we are obviously willing to pay a reasonable fee! An example is attached.

    1045-1.zip

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    So you can't just use a trial version of TurboCAD, open the files, then do a save as to dxf file format?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    So you can't just use a trial version of TurboCAD, open the files, then do a save as to dxf file format?
    If only ! Yes, I obviously tried that but this version is so old. I sent it to TurboCAD but even they don't have any platforms that old running.

    I guess I am hoping someone out there has Windows 95 still running!!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Have you tried looking for an online company that can do the conversion?

    Do you have paper versions of the drawings?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Have you tried looking for an online company that can do the conversion?

    Do you have paper versions of the drawings?
    Good call, I will have a look around, any recommendations welcome.

    We do have some paper ones and that is not a problem, we can re-draw or scan them - it's the drawings we have which we know relate to jobs done 20 years ago which we don't actually know what is in them that is the problem.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    And no one at the TurboCAD forum can help?

    Do you have a copy of TurboCAD that would run on a Win95 computer?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    And no one at the TurboCAD forum can help?

    Do you have a copy of TurboCAD that would run on a Win95 computer?
    I didn't even know there is a TurboCAD forum, I do know now though - I will post there thanks.

    I have a more modern version of Turbocad but version 8 is the oldest I have found and that is too modern!

  8. #8
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,521

    Default

    Maybe some one like these guys

    http://formatconversion.biz/tcw-to-dwg-conversion.html

    I still run Windows 98 if that helps

    -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Bethel View Post
    Maybe some one like these guys

    http://formatconversion.biz/tcw-to-dwg-conversion.html

    I still run Windows 98 if that helps

    -David
    Thanks David,

    If you have TurboCAD on that machine and can open that file then yes!!

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    hakmawongzi's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 10 64 bit
    Computer:
    DELL PRECISION M4500
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 Q720
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX1800M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD Samsung EVO
    Discipline
    Electrical
    hakmawongzi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Low voltage installer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Telephone, data and cablevision cabling Security alarm system installation CCTV installation Residential low voltage installation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I loaded a very old version of TurboCAD and tried to open the posted tcw file and it says "Version 1.0 Drawing" and it cannot be opened. From what I can understand from the error messages, Version 1.0 file can only be opened by TurboCAD v1.0 or v2.0. Any other latest tcw file from the bunch that you can post for testing ?

Similar Threads

  1. TurboCAD "save as" DXF for 6,000+ files
    By kellenhaskell in forum Catch All
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2012, 09:38 pm
  2. Help, AutoCAD, TurboCAD??
    By Andyfb78 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2009, 07:59 pm
  3. TurboCad
    By conway in forum Catch All
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Dec 2008, 03:04 am
  4. TurboCAD Pro 14
    By Little Bandit in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2007, 12:26 am
  5. TurboCAD Solid Modeler
    By mrhenley in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th May 2005, 02:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts