+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,099

    Question Tool to check software compatibility for computer

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was not sure in which section this question should go do decided to post here.
    i have autodesk building design suit-2015 license and I need a computer with good specs which can run all the software of the bundle when need arises. mainly i will be using autocad, revit & 3d max
    My husband runs an IT company and he has few spare computer due to cut down of staff. so asked him for it and he says that now days usually, tools are available to check compatibility of computer for the software, so you find out the tool and give it to me. so I can run and check which computer will be suitable for you.
    so do any of you know about this tool?
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    You don't need a tool. AutoDesk publishes the minimum system requirements for each piece of software it offers. Compare those specs to the specs of the computer/monitor you'll be using. Note the emphasis on the word minimum. It is my opinion that one should always exceed the minimum specs because they will also be running other programs in the background. On any given day besides the OS and AutoCAD I have MS Outlook, MS Office (Excel, Word and Access), Acrobat Reader, Draftsight and a browser open and running in the background. If you truly need to put a system through its paces then find and use the Cadalyst Systems Benchmark Test available at the Cadalyst magazine website.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    A couple of things, watch out for Intel graphics only, we had to get new computers when going from 2013 -16 as the intel graphics card was not supported. The second thing is if using a large screen check that the graphics card can dirve it at a higher resolution, again this was a problem with the older Intel graphics card. Generally if it has a non intel graphics card it should run better.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,797

    Default

    Generally the machine with the best and fastest processor, the most RAM and best Graphics Card, even better if Autodesk has a driver for it (not an integrated, but dedicated) , an SSD would really improve things. If they have integrated Graphics, you will not likely be happy with any of them.

    Best thing, have him provide a list of the machines and their specifications and post it here. Plenty here can look at the list and give recommendations.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,099

    Default

    Thank you all for reply. I told him about the specification from auto desk and some suggestions I had read on other threads here.
    He has one particular machine in mind, which was used earlier by web developer in his firm, so he thinks it should be powerful enough for my purpose. And being in IT, they know about latest thinpgs available so he says there should be a tool, because it is available for some other softwares he had tried.
    Anyways, I will tell him about cadlyst magazine website and will ask him to check out as suggested by Remark.
    I will ask him to give me the specs, if possible. He can not straight away give me the pc, as he need to Clemens it up first, to remove his companies data and unrelated softwares.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    We had some spare ram so gave it one of the guys downstairs he had 4Gb now has 12Gb his comment was how much better Autocad now worked, so if the ram is compatible steal it out of other boxes.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    Another option is PassMark's Performance Test "to test your computer and compare its performance against baseline statistics and other users' PCs." This is called "benchmarking".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    My laptop at home is a few years old and only a I3 so my passmark was 1252, I will try at work if the virus checker lets me. Remark yours ?

    Re like Dadgad took a hit on screen resolution.
    Last edited by BIGAL; 30th Apr 2017 at 02:00 am.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,973

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I ran it, that was fun, watching it put the laptop through the wringer, with intensive imaging.
    I got 1934.5, but as the resolution of the built in screen is sub-standard, I took a 29% hit on that part of the test.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 29th Apr 2017 at 03:19 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. How to export harness to CST (computer simulation software)
    By pcsen20 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Jun 2016, 10:24 am
  2. Computer Specification Compatibility for AUTOCAD 2014 and construction software
    By pjbzation123 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2014, 03:39 am
  3. transfer Inventor LT 2011 software to new computer
    By dmckenney in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2013, 08:09 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts